Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
The best prime rib we ever tasted. We had perfect range of meat (medium to well done).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This is great! I made this on Christmas day and again New Years day. It is that good! Remember- 5 mins. per pound at 500 degrees. Use a thermomter for best results. I made a paste with the mustard- using minced garlic from a jar, and tons of Montreal Steak Seasonings (a favorite year round) and garlic salt. Very tasty! My husband hates roast beef- after a childhood full of bland, dry ones- and loves this. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Excellent! I put the roast out on the counter for 1 hour before putting it into the oven. (I cleaned the oven first.) 12# roast, I cooked 70 min. and turned it off. It was so good. Everybody loved it. I liked that this one was roasted with a cover. In the past I had done Prime Rib in an open roasting pan (as per other recipes) and my oven was always a MESS afterwards and it was always so smokey. I dind't have a bit of problem with smoke. I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Well, I followed this recipe to a 't' but the meat still wasn't done enough and we like med.rare beef. Anyway, I ended up keeping the roast in the oven at 225 for about another 40 minutes and then it was fine. Only prob...guests had to wait for their Xmas meal. Another prob...even with a very clean oven, house still smoked up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Followed directions to the letter, way under cooked! Thermometer didn't even make it to 120 degrees. Ended up slicing it and cooking it under the broiler. Will find a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I cooked a 3.25 lb. prime rib for 30/30 at 400 degrees. It was rare, too rare. When I finally got it cooked to medium it was dry, very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My little roast was 3lbs. I put in in covered with foil on a grid in a roasting pan at 500 for 45 mins figuring 15 mins a lb for medium. I tested it and it was 160 as required for medium and I left it sit for the recommended hour. I just took it out and we carved it and it was RARE RARE RARE so it went back in :( UNcovered at this point in time. I am so interested in that reviewer who suggested 5 mins per lb for a small roast. Do you like your roast very rare? I don't think you said. After 30 mins at 350 it was cooked medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Just fixed our 13lb Christmas rib using this recipe. It was by far the best so far. Used montreal steak seasoning instead of salt and pepper. I had to give the roast another 30 mins at 400 degrees at the end, as the center temp was only 125. Took it out at 145 degrees and had medium to medium rare for everyone. The mustard adds a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Very easy and tasty. Made this for Thanksgiving because we do not like turkey. The only complaint was the price of the prime rib, which is not the recipe's fault. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
My family loves this recipe. I do recomend adjusting the temperature for a smaller/larger roast to 500 degrees for 5 min/lb. Ex. 5 lb roast is 25 min at 500 degrees. Also make sure your roast is room temp to start, and, make sure you don't have an old oven that might leak heat to fast or this recipe won't work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States