Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
My suggestion is to cook at 475 for about half hour, then bring it down to 375 until desired doneness. Don't forget, take it out before you have it to your desired doneness. It will keep cooking while it rests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Made for Christmas Eve dinner last year and tasted amazing although the house smelt of garlic for days and I don't think people enjoyed sitting next to us at church after we ate because we wreaked of garlic. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I followed the suggestion to roast @ 5min per lb instead of 60 min & it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Excellent!!! Crusty on the outside!! perfect on the inside!! Great for a large group dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
My son-in-law bought a prime rib for Christmas and I used this recipe. As many of the reviewers had used Montreal Seasoning, I bought some and mixed that in too. I made sure to have the roast at room temperature prior to cooking and to use a covered pan while cooking it. It came out perfect and everyone loved it. The smells coming out of the kitchen while it was cooking was enough to make everyone starving. Very easy and very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I am very sorry that I wasted my time as well as my prime rib on this recipe. I had a 10lb roast (with bones...don't know if that makes a difference), after 45 minutes in the 500 degree oven all of our smoke detectors were going wacko (thank goodness our guests were family and therefore forgiving b/c there was a tone of smoke). We had to open several doors, etc to air it out. We put in a roasting pan and covered with foil and a ton if liquid got into the bottom of the oven (not sure how, we had it covered tightly and it fit in the pan). Needless to say, we shut the oven off at 55 minutes and never opened the door. After the 90 minutes with the oven off, the smoke had cleared but our roast was waaaay undercooked, at around 115-120 degrees. After the oven incident, we ended up re-wrapping and putting the grill on medium and trying to cook the roast in there. We finally got a decent temperature, but at that point our roast was pretty much shoe leather. Finally, and this may happen with all prime ribs, I am not really sure, this sucker started out one huge hunk of meat, it was 1/2 the size (lengthwise) when it came out of the oven...and I am not exaggarating....It was litterally half the size! Anyhow, next time I think we are going to order pizza for New Year's Eve, and when we want prime rib we will go to J. Alexander's (our favorite restaurant).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was a very tasty dish. Note: garlic provided taste to the outside of the meat. You need to insert small slivers into the middle of the meat. Also, when changing the weight, it was difficult to adjust cooking times given the two stages of cooking. For 5 lbs we cooked for 45 mins, then let sit in the oven for 60 mins. This seemed to result in medium meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Like many others, I followed the recipe and ended up with barely cooked beef that wasn't particularly flavorful or tender. I know this receipe does work for some folks and their ovens, but not for me and I wouldn't recommend anyone to take a chance blowing a $50 piece of meat and a holiday meal on this one! I get far superior results with the method whereby you pack your roast in a bed of Kosher salt, cook high heat for 20-30 minutes then drop down to 325 degrees. Always tender and flavorful, and no surprises when it's time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Very good Convect at 325 25-30 min per pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I didn't have any garlic cloves so I mixed minced garlic in with the dijon mustard and spread it on, also I used montreal steak spice instead of the salt and pepper. I'm sure this would have been very good if I had used a 10lb roast but unfortunately I had a 2lb roast and I completely overcooked it. I set the oven temperature at 500 degrees to start and then tested the meat with a meat thermometer after 30 minutes. It was close to being rare at that point so I turned the oven temperature down to 375 degrees and kept it in for another half hour. When I took out my roast the meat thermometer reading was way above well done. What a disappointment for a person who likes it medium to medium rare! It was edible but not close to being as good as it could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States