Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I've cooked my prime rib like this for years ... always delicious!! One rule of thumb - if you're using a smaller roast - cook at 500F for 5 minutes PER POUND of meat (so a 5lb roast would cook for 25 minutes) and your roast will turn out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Although this would "seem" simple enough, I sit here, fuming, because the lack of experience on this board continues to befuddle me. I purchased a 3.5lb boneless rib roast. I let this roast sit for 30+ mins, to achieve room temp. Following this, I rubbed this roast with the mcormicks steak rub, followed by smothering with dijon mustard. Because I wasn't 100% sure HOW to cook this, I placed it in a 500 degree oven for 17mins, covered, following the 5mins/lb @ 500 rule. At 17 mins, the roast hadn't even BEGUN to cook. Uncovered, and returned to the same oven. Mild smoke ensued. Retrieved from oven after 11mins, and let rest to continue to cook. (Approx 15mins) Began to cut roast, and noticed that, although it "appeared" cooked, the inside was still very very rare. It is now BACK IN THE OVEN, over 1.5 hours after the original attempt. People, please, if you have a convec oven, or notice something particular in your cooking, please, please, please post it in your reviews. I cannot give this recipe a decent review, as the instructions (5mins/lb@500 degrees) are, like I thought, simply untrue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Loved the garlic and mustard taste. However, as one reviewer noted, this is very easy to overcook, which I did the first time. For those of you who prefer prime rib medium rare or less......I suggest: Preheat to 400, Roast for 1 hour in OPEN pan, in center of oven. Shut off for 2 hours (Also, DO NOT open door) Turn oven back on to 375 for 30-35 minutes. Tighly cover with foil and "rest" meat for 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I used a 5 lb roast. I cooked it at 400 for 60 minutes and then let it sit for 45. It was a little bit more than medium. I would probably cook for 45 and let it sit for 45 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe. I do not understand how some people could have gotten anything but exceptional results with this method. Now I used a Whopper of a Prime Rib…an 18-pounder. I compensated for the size by using the 5 minute per # rule and it worked out superbly. I stuffed tons of garlic cloves into the roast and also used Montreal Seasoning as well as a little extra Lawry’s Seasoned salt because I like it so much. I cooked my roast at 500 for 90 minutes and let stay in there for an additional 90 minutes after turning off the oven. Definitely will use this recipe again and I am looking forward to tweaking it here and there to get different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I made this for the first time on Christmas Eve 2002. I put it in the preheated oven just as we left home for Xmas Eve services and man did the house smell amazing when we returned home. Instead of salt and pepper, I use 'Montreal Steak Seasoning' which you can find at Costco. I believe McCormicks makes it so you might find it in your local grocery store where the spices are. Be sure to cover with foil before placing in oven. Otherwise it gets smokey and can set off your smoke alarms...I speak from experience as I have made this at least 6 times in the past 6 months...usually when we entertain. It gets rave reviews. I flew some of my husbands friends in from New York for his 40th birthday in March...every single 'man' wanted to go home with this recipe to have their spouse/significant other make it. It really is SO simple. Also, if you have a local Meat store/butcher shop, get the rib from them, it's only about $1 more per pound and really does make a difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe is absolutely awesome! For a previous reviewer, the reason your roast came out raw was because you did not let your roast come to room temperature before cooking. You need to let it sit out for atleast 1/2 hour before cooking, and you should do this for any roast, but especially for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Like many others, I followed the recipe and ended up with barely cooked beef that wasn't particularly flavorful or tender. I know this receipe does work for some folks and their ovens, but not for me and I wouldn't recommend anyone to take a chance blowing a $50 piece of meat and a holiday meal on this one! I get far superior results with the method whereby you pack your roast in a bed of Kosher salt, cook high heat for 20-30 minutes then drop down to 325 degrees. Always tender and flavorful, and no surprises when it's time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
My family loves this recipe. I do recomend adjusting the temperature for a smaller/larger roast to 500 degrees for 5 min/lb. Ex. 5 lb roast is 25 min at 500 degrees. Also make sure your roast is room temp to start, and, make sure you don't have an old oven that might leak heat to fast or this recipe won't work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I was very unsure of the dijonmustard; however, I have not been disappointed with such highly rated recipes this far. I used a 4lb rib, and roaseted it at 375 in a convection oven for 45 min, then turned the oven off and left it in the oven for another 30 minutes, it came out at 155 degrees, which was perfect. I served it with an au jus sauce, that contained sauteed mushrooms and onions, also a dill horseradish sauce, and a baked potatoe. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States