Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was so good my family has requested it for Christmas dinner this year. Using a meat thermometer is the key. I did not use mustard I used garlic and steakhouse pepper blend mixed with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. It was my first time cooking prime rib and I was very apprehensive about leaving it alone in the oven. I followed the 5 min. per pound rule for my 5 pound roast (25 min. at 500 degrees) and then turned off the over and left it for 60 min. instead of 90. Also, I did mine in a cast iron roasting pot, lid on, in a regular oven. I also tented it in tinfoil and let it rest for 15 min. after removing it from the oven. It came out medium/well put was super moist. Perfectly cooked. If you want it a bit more rare, maybe cut down the time a bit more. An excellent and easy way to cook prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Made it exactly as shown...turned out PERFECTLY!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! We have made this recipe for 3 years and everytime it is perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent! Thank you. My Prime Rib Dinner was a huge success with the meat a perfect medium rare, edge to edge. Now I can make this "dining out" meal at home for those special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was my first stab at prime rib, and the cooking time was *just right* I used a bone-in cut, and was generous with seasoning. Key is to let it sit in the oven--tough to do! Also, have an oven thermometer so you are sure of oven's temp. It helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I haven't yet had a taste of the rib roast to rate it, but I'm rating anyway. I followed the 5 lb review. OMG, it smells good, but I wasn't warned about the smoke! My whole kitchen and family room are smoked! My hubby's comment was "at least it smells good." Will post more later. Has anyone else had a problem with the smoke or did I do something wrong? So far, because of the smoke, my rating is as shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Yup... this was awesome... I made a 4lb prime rib and roasted it at 500 for 20 mins and then turned the oven off... but then I had to turn it back on again at 400 for quite a bit longer b/c it was no where near 160 internal... so plan for it to take longer than you might expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
First of all I am not a cook by any means!! But I wanted something different for our early family Christmas party. My cousin suggested a Prime Rib roast ... I used this recipe for the temp and cooking time for my 10 lb. roast. I took it out of the fridge and let it sit out (still wrapped) for about 2-3 hours and cooked according to directions. The thermometer read 145 when I took it out. I just used Montreal Steak Seasoning but not enough - and that is my fault. But the meat still tasted good, and was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States