Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Great recipe. It was a hit with my teens and boyfriend. This was a run thru for Christmas eve. I used a 4lb standing roast. As suggested, I cooked it at 500 for 20 mins. Let sit in the oven for 60 minutes. It was a little too rare for us, I will let it sit in the oven for an additional 15-30 next time. I used jar minced garlic rather than fresh and at least a half cup of dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Excellent ideas in this recipe. I cooked the roast 5 min per pound at 500 and then left it sit for 90 min in the oven. I didn't have any mustard, so rather than the seasonings, I used Montreal Steak seasoning. I made a basic au jus to finish the slices to peoples liking. it was a hit. There was very little leftover. What was left, was so tender, it could be eaten cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was so good my family has requested it for Christmas dinner this year. Using a meat thermometer is the key. I did not use mustard I used garlic and steakhouse pepper blend mixed with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. It was my first time cooking prime rib and I was very apprehensive about leaving it alone in the oven. I followed the 5 min. per pound rule for my 5 pound roast (25 min. at 500 degrees) and then turned off the over and left it for 60 min. instead of 90. Also, I did mine in a cast iron roasting pot, lid on, in a regular oven. I also tented it in tinfoil and let it rest for 15 min. after removing it from the oven. It came out medium/well put was super moist. Perfectly cooked. If you want it a bit more rare, maybe cut down the time a bit more. An excellent and easy way to cook prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Made it exactly as shown...turned out PERFECTLY!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! We have made this recipe for 3 years and everytime it is perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent! Thank you. My Prime Rib Dinner was a huge success with the meat a perfect medium rare, edge to edge. Now I can make this "dining out" meal at home for those special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was my first stab at prime rib, and the cooking time was *just right* I used a bone-in cut, and was generous with seasoning. Key is to let it sit in the oven--tough to do! Also, have an oven thermometer so you are sure of oven's temp. It helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I haven't yet had a taste of the rib roast to rate it, but I'm rating anyway. I followed the 5 lb review. OMG, it smells good, but I wasn't warned about the smoke! My whole kitchen and family room are smoked! My hubby's comment was "at least it smells good." Will post more later. Has anyone else had a problem with the smoke or did I do something wrong? So far, because of the smoke, my rating is as shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States