Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I thought this roast was amazing! My guests were raving about it all night. The mustard gives that extra "oomph"! Not only that, but it was soooo easy! For those who had trouble with it being undercooked I would suggest a meat thermometer. I too had issues with the cooking time but since ovens are different and some prefer there beef cooked "a little more" I always trust the meat thermometer. Super recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Best prime rib I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've cooked my prime rib like this for years with awesome results. ALWAYS allow the roast to come to room temperature before placing into the oven. I don't use the mustard, and I generously cover the roast with McCormicks Steak seasoning salt. I also have a remote thermometer that allows me to keep a close eye on what my roast is doing. Our family always requests that I cook the roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This sounded so good, but cooking it this way didn't work for me. I had a 4 lb roast and cooked it 5 min per pound and let it sit for 90 min. It was not done. We like rare, but this was way too rare! I had to cook the slices on the stove to finish them up. Also, I didn't like how the mustard crust wasn't crispy. It was soft and soggy since the pan was covered. Without a lid it would have crisped up nicely. I'll keep looking for a prime rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I let the roast come to room temperature, rubbed it with Kosher salt, didn't use the mustard and left it in just a couple of minutes longer. It came out absolutely PERFECTLY medium rare. I no longer have any fear of spending such a large amount of money on a cut of meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I have never left a review and I have used many recipes from this website. I was very nervous after reading everyone's review. I made the prime rib exactly as described (5 min/lb) and then let it set for 90 min, and perfection. Everyone loved it!! Thank you for a great experience!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I've used this recipe many times on various sizes of meat and it always comes out perfect. I follow the directions (60min./10= 6 min/lb. cooking,90min./10= 9 min/lb.) I keep my oven clean and have never had a problem with smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Made for Christmas Day, it was Fabulous. I'm just starting to experiment cooking with herbs, I LOVE thyme now. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used this recipe last year & loved it. I had never cooked a prime rib roast before & it was absolutely perfect. In reading some of the other reviews, it seems like the people that didn't like it couldn't leave the oven door closed. The 5 minutes per pound rule works @ 500 degrees & 90 minutes after that & DON'T PEEK !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbell2302

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used a meat thermometer all during cooking. After rubbing with dijon and a good sprinkling of montreal seasoning I put my 4lb. roast in a 500 degree convection oven for 30 minutes and turned off the oven until my thermometer read 145 degrees, approx 2 hours. It was wonderfully rare with a crusty covering over the largest side of the roast. The roast rested 20 minutes before carving to let the juices redistribute throughout. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States