Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used a 5 lb roast. I cooked it at 400 for 45 minutes and then let it sit for 45. Came out medium rare in the middle and medium on the ends. Perfect for me. I only checked on the roast once and that was right before I turned off oven. I followed all the same seasoning directions as in original directions. Not sure why other folks had an issue with meat not being cooked or oven smoking up the house (maybe an unclean oven?). My guest raved: "This is the best!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Just a thought....some people get confused when cooking a smaller roast with the 5 min/pound rule...that rule is for the 500 degree cooking part only, you then have to continue to cook it for 90 minutes after shutting temperature/heat off, in an oven that you NEVER open. Use an oven safe meat thermometer or your oven probe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rye, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
As rule of thumb I don't like this style of cooking prime rib. However, if you do make it this way it is very important that you take your roast out of the refrigerator at least an hour before cooking . . . two is better. I like to have the internal temp. at around 60 - 70 degrees when I put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Da Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Cooked perfectly. Thanks for the tip! I would add ALOT more seasoning though.. I doubled what was in the recipe and it still didn't enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe! This is the best prime rib I have ever eaten! Tips: meat has to be at room temp before cooking and 5 min per pound at 500F does work ONLY if the meat is at room temp. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
For the seeming very frustrated simplicity123, I am giving this recipe a 4 star due to the reason's you mentioned to this recipe. Not because it is a bad recipe but it seems to me that the recipe might not include a bit of information about this cut of meat that is important: it is traditionally served extremely rare, hence the very high temperature for a short period of time. (my mother adds a bit more depth in flavor by searing the cut off very quickly on a high grill first before setting it in an oven YUM) Anyway, despite tradition if you like it more well done, do so to your taste of course =) however, I would suggest that you leave the foil ON the meat to speed the cooking process as the very high temperature of the oven will, indeed, scorch the fats and smoke out your kitchen (HAHAHA, fire alarm time, one of the joys of learning to cook, no?) Hope I helped, and that you wont be discouraged from trying this recipe again as its a tasty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent! I took the advice of others and cooked 6 minutes per pound at 500 degrees since I had a 7 lb. roast. I also rubbed the roast with 1 tsp of each: salt, pepper, garlic powder & onion powder. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was the best prime rib I have every made!!! The family loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Cooked perfectly. The only addition that I would make is to add more herbs such as rosemary and thyme or your favorite, and insert a meat thermometer in the middle of the roast to determine when to remove the meat from the oven (rare=125F, med rare=130F, med=140F, med well=150). The meat will be more done towards the sides, so give those cuts to those who like the meat done more than the middle cuts. Some reviewers (e.g. simplicity123) did not follow the directions and complained that the roast wasn't cooked. You have to turn the oven off after cooking for 5 minutes / pound and leave the roast in the oven for 90 minutes to finish cooking. Adjust the cooking time for how you like it (rare, medium rare, medium). Use a meat thermometer! The only reason that I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is because I like more herbs. Rosemary and thyme go wonderfully with dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I will never cook a prime rib any other way. Foolproof, however you season the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States