Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I am not a cook - my Fiance is an amazing cook. I made this for him and my son on Valentines day and I knocked their socks off...it was SO SO Easy! We have shared this with many people. Thanks to my Best Friend Becky for sharing it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Have made this numerous times. Mostly with bone in roasts. I add fresh rosemary and thyme to top of roast after covering with Dijon mustard. I also use the 5 mins per pound process for smaller roasts. I have covered and not covered roast - with same results. When I don't cover - the roast is a little more crunchy on the outside (which we like) Enjoy !! This is a definite keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I was disappointed with this method of cooking my expensive prime rib. It was too rare. My oven had cooled and too late to reheat it. We were so hungry we ate it anyway. Next time I'll cook it at the 500 temp another half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this almost to the letter of the recipe. I cooked it at 500 for 40 min's (5 min's per lb) Then shut the oven off for 2 hours and it was perfect. If you like your rare which we do. Will cook my prime rib like this every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I used the reviewer's suggestion of 5 minutes at 500 degrees per pound. I had a 4.2# roast that I sprinkled liberally with garlic powder and sea salt then rubbed it in with olive oil. I did not have any mustard. It was AWESOME. Perfectly Medium Rare, pink all the way through, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have never been happier with the results of a recipe in my life! I followed it to the letter and it was perfect. I have cooked many rib roasts but the meat never came out with the right taste or consistency. This was better than any I have eaten out. All I can say is thank you, thank you, and thank you, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I am an experienced cook and I have always wanted to try this recipe. It was disappointing for the following reasons. I had an 8 pound prime rib at room temp. I cooked for 40 minutes at 500 and left it for 90 minutes. The house was full of smoke (my oven is clean), the roast turned out to be medium well on the first 1/3 of the slice and rare in the end of the same slice ! I gues this is fine if you really want to have different degrees of doneness but I wanted medium rare throughout. I will not make it this way again. I will just roast it at 350 until the proper temp. Usually about 1.5 hours for a roast this size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Easy! We were a little nervous about cooking a $90 prime rib for the first time, but it came out PERFECT!!!! We ordered a 10# roast with the bone on. We just took it out of the fridge 3 hours before roasting, sprinkled on some s & p (didn't do the garlic or the mustard) and followed the directions exactly. I usually only care for the rare part of the meat, but on this roast even the well-done ends were succulent. The meat browns even though it's covered. The smell was incredible. Every person was "oooohing" and "aaaaahing!" Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used a 5 lb roast. I cooked it at 400 for 45 minutes and then let it sit for 45. Came out medium rare in the middle and medium on the ends. Perfect for me. I only checked on the roast once and that was right before I turned off oven. I followed all the same seasoning directions as in original directions. Not sure why other folks had an issue with meat not being cooked or oven smoking up the house (maybe an unclean oven?). My guest raved: "This is the best!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Just a thought....some people get confused when cooking a smaller roast with the 5 min/pound rule...that rule is for the 500 degree cooking part only, you then have to continue to cook it for 90 minutes after shutting temperature/heat off, in an oven that you NEVER open. Use an oven safe meat thermometer or your oven probe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rye, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States