Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was so good my family has requested it for Christmas dinner this year. Using a meat thermometer is the key. I did not use mustard I used garlic and steakhouse pepper blend mixed with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. It was my first time cooking prime rib and I was very apprehensive about leaving it alone in the oven. I followed the 5 min. per pound rule for my 5 pound roast (25 min. at 500 degrees) and then turned off the over and left it for 60 min. instead of 90. Also, I did mine in a cast iron roasting pot, lid on, in a regular oven. I also tented it in tinfoil and let it rest for 15 min. after removing it from the oven. It came out medium/well put was super moist. Perfectly cooked. If you want it a bit more rare, maybe cut down the time a bit more. An excellent and easy way to cook prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Made it exactly as shown...turned out PERFECTLY!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is an awesome recipe! We have made this recipe for 3 years and everytime it is perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent! Thank you. My Prime Rib Dinner was a huge success with the meat a perfect medium rare, edge to edge. Now I can make this "dining out" meal at home for those special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe! This was my first stab at prime rib, and the cooking time was *just right* I used a bone-in cut, and was generous with seasoning. Key is to let it sit in the oven--tough to do! Also, have an oven thermometer so you are sure of oven's temp. It helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I haven't yet had a taste of the rib roast to rate it, but I'm rating anyway. I followed the 5 lb review. OMG, it smells good, but I wasn't warned about the smoke! My whole kitchen and family room are smoked! My hubby's comment was "at least it smells good." Will post more later. Has anyone else had a problem with the smoke or did I do something wrong? So far, because of the smoke, my rating is as shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Yup... this was awesome... I made a 4lb prime rib and roasted it at 500 for 20 mins and then turned the oven off... but then I had to turn it back on again at 400 for quite a bit longer b/c it was no where near 160 internal... so plan for it to take longer than you might expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
First of all I am not a cook by any means!! But I wanted something different for our early family Christmas party. My cousin suggested a Prime Rib roast ... I used this recipe for the temp and cooking time for my 10 lb. roast. I took it out of the fridge and let it sit out (still wrapped) for about 2-3 hours and cooked according to directions. The thermometer read 145 when I took it out. I just used Montreal Steak Seasoning but not enough - and that is my fault. But the meat still tasted good, and was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States