Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
First of all I am not a cook by any means!! But I wanted something different for our early family Christmas party. My cousin suggested a Prime Rib roast ... I used this recipe for the temp and cooking time for my 10 lb. roast. I took it out of the fridge and let it sit out (still wrapped) for about 2-3 hours and cooked according to directions. The thermometer read 145 when I took it out. I just used Montreal Steak Seasoning but not enough - and that is my fault. But the meat still tasted good, and was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I have been using this recipe for several years now...we love it. I do not use the mustard, but I do follow the recipe with that exception. Will continue to use. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Although this would "seem" simple enough, I sit here, fuming, because the lack of experience on this board continues to befuddle me. I purchased a 3.5lb boneless rib roast. I let this roast sit for 30+ mins, to achieve room temp. Following this, I rubbed this roast with the mcormicks steak rub, followed by smothering with dijon mustard. Because I wasn't 100% sure HOW to cook this, I placed it in a 500 degree oven for 17mins, covered, following the 5mins/lb @ 500 rule. At 17 mins, the roast hadn't even BEGUN to cook. Uncovered, and returned to the same oven. Mild smoke ensued. Retrieved from oven after 11mins, and let rest to continue to cook. (Approx 15mins) Began to cut roast, and noticed that, although it "appeared" cooked, the inside was still very very rare. It is now BACK IN THE OVEN, over 1.5 hours after the original attempt. People, please, if you have a convec oven, or notice something particular in your cooking, please, please, please post it in your reviews. I cannot give this recipe a decent review, as the instructions (5mins/lb@500 degrees) are, like I thought, simply untrue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This came out excellent. Followed the timing and directions. Let the roast come to room temperature first (about 45 min) before cooking. If you take it righ out of the fridge, it will be undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
We didn't use the mustard, but I love the idea of stuffing the roast with garlic. Instead I just used salt and pepper for seasoning. Yummo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Added a lot more garlic (used minced from a jar) as well as rosemary and thyme. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Absolutely amazing!!!! I was a little scared of making this because #1 I had never attempted prime rib before and #2 I was making it for a packed house. I was thrilled with the results!! It came out juicy and tender and made incredible sandwiches the next day!! My family has been begging me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
YUMMY SCRUMMY!!!!!!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Made this Christmas day...what a treat...came out flavorful and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I loved this recipe. I do not understand how some people could have gotten anything but exceptional results with this method. Now I used a Whopper of a Prime Rib…an 18-pounder. I compensated for the size by using the 5 minute per # rule and it worked out superbly. I stuffed tons of garlic cloves into the roast and also used Montreal Seasoning as well as a little extra Lawry’s Seasoned salt because I like it so much. I cooked my roast at 500 for 90 minutes and let stay in there for an additional 90 minutes after turning off the oven. Definitely will use this recipe again and I am looking forward to tweaking it here and there to get different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States