Prime Rib Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is the 2nd time that I have made this with our leftover Christmas Eve prime rib. Very good! I cut the mushrooms in half, added sauted onion, extra beef, added the au jus from the meat and served with a homemade crusty bread (Easy Whole Wheat Bread) from this site. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
been workin on this for about 3 hours now......yummy! added carrots,garlic,onions and some of the left over au jus, not done yet but still tastes awesome! Also,like another reviewer, finishing in the crock pot after skimming fat, add all together and let it work its magic! thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I used a 7 rib 18 pounder for New Years. It was easy to cook and came out great. I cooked down all the ribs in a crock pot overnight. Pull the bone from the meat and let the meat cool too. Its easier to seperate the fats and connective tissues when cold. I also doubled the broth and added some chicken bouillion (shhh..dont tell the ribs), also a few each celery and carrots. Turned out great and made myself feel good about spending so much on the initial roast. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Terrifc Soup! Skipped the potato and added 4 small sliced yellow onions. Hubby said it was perfect and any other additions would detract from the original flavoring of the Prime Rib stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
VERY good soup! I did start with sauteing chopped onion and celery in butter, then added the prime rib, beef stock; added carrots and two potatoes. I already had rosemary, garlic & thyme coated on my prime rib from the day before, so that added wonderful flavor. Thanks Emily! This was so good and a great way to use up every bit of that expensive Christmas prime rib! KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was great! I added some more veggies, used two cans of beef broth and a some steak seasoning. A great use of left-over prime rib when you just can't eat another sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I liked it a lot. My 18 year old son, however, went nuts. He ate everything besides the small bowl I had. I asked him how many stars he'd give it out of five and he said, "twelve constellations". This recipe rocks. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipes is great and is a great`way to use up left over standing rib roast. I followed as written and added some extra pieces of meat. It came out a bit salty. It may have been the brand on broth I use so I would advise waiting to season with salt until half way through final simmer, then add if necessary. Overall this was fantastic and I am psyched I found something good to do with left over roast. I finally feel like I used everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added a few things as I always do. Worcestershire sauce, flour, half and half,carrots, garlic ,onion rosemary and thyme. Thickened it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A little time consuming, but it's worth it! I used barley instead of the potato, just because that's what I had handy. Came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States