Prime Rib Au Jus with Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
It is a good recipe, but if you like medium rare, need to take the rib out at internal temp of 130 and let it come up to 140 while it is resting and not let it cook until 140
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I rub my seasoned roast with flour. This seals the juices in the meat. Cook at 450 for 30 minutes to sear, then reduce heat to 325 until inner temp reaches 120 degrees. Let it stand covered in foil for 30 minutes. Medium rare. You can put away the steak knives, all you will need to cut this piece of meat is your fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is the most awesome roast you'll ever eat. Another option is if your camping do it in a camp oven (cast iron pot put on the coals of an open fire). The meat just melts in your mouth & you can put your vegetables in the pot with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for our New Years Eve gathering last evening and the carnivores went wild!! I can't comment on the pudding because we used the rib for sandwiches. My family and my guests like their meat rare so I took it out when it reached a temp of 130. Simple recipe yet absolutely delicious Elissa and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These were fun to watch in the oven. I used 9 eggs. The puddings were yummy with the meat juice. This recipe will make about 20. Do NOT overfill muffin tin. The smoke billowing from the fat that overflowed was not appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I adjusted the yorkshire pudding down to one cup of each ingredient and three eggs and it was the perfect amount of batter for 12 muffins. The au jus was outstanding. I added half a teaspoon of garlic powder to it but otherwise followed the recipe. Will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I've never made this before but my boyfriend said it was just like his mom would make, and he LOVED IT. I'm making it again this Friday. Great recipe, easy to too do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wowheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Made this recipe last night for guests and it was wonderful. The meat came out perfect!! One of the guests always makes Yorkshire pudding and I never have until last night. It was so good she asked for the recipe.. It does make more than you need to fill a 12 place cupcake tin. Thanks so much... I will continue to use this as my favorite Prime Rib.. Now I am not hesitent to make the pudding. so nice to have the batter made up ahead of time. So good and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've been making my mother-in-law's delicious recipe for 30 years... tried this one, which is a little different and WOW!!! It's a new favorite! And about the egg thing... if you are familiar with Yorkshire, you know egg quantity can be adjusted to individual preference! YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was good, and I was glad for the advice to not overcook. I added all the garlic peices, and I think that was wasted time and work. I could not taste the garlic in the meat, and I was afraid I was going to bite into a large garlic sliver as I was eating. I was serving this to adults and children, and I think it would have been easier and just as tasty to omit the garlic. I thought the puddings were a little too "eggy". Next time I will use half as many eggs about 3-4. I made 6 puddings in a popover pan, and 12 more in a muffin tin-more than enough. The au jus was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States