Prime Rib Au Jus with Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe. The only thing I would advise is cooking to temp of 125 and letting rest will give you rare/medium rare. Cooking to 130 and letting rest will give you medium rare to medium meat. 140 mentioned in this recipe is too done for my family, so we just decreased the time according to our taste. The Yorkshire pudding is heavenly! It seems like there will not be enough pan drippings to make, but I was able to make 22 puddings total from a 5.62 lb standing rib roast. We did not get any crust on our pan for Au Jus, but really, we did not miss it at all as the meat is super moist and flavorful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used the recipe for the yorkshire pudding and found that it was very eggy. Not sure if it's suppose to be like that but no one really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I rub my seasoned roast with flour. This seals the juices in the meat. Cook at 450 for 30 minutes to sear, then reduce heat to 325 until inner temp reaches 120 degrees. Let it stand covered in foil for 30 minutes. Medium rare. You can put away the steak knives, all you will need to cut this piece of meat is your fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I cooked mine prime rib a bit longer...I like mine medium with a touch of rare. I will definitely make this again. I didn't make the Yorkshire puddings this time but I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Made this recipe last night for guests and it was wonderful. The meat came out perfect!! One of the guests always makes Yorkshire pudding and I never have until last night. It was so good she asked for the recipe.. It does make more than you need to fill a 12 place cupcake tin. Thanks so much... I will continue to use this as my favorite Prime Rib.. Now I am not hesitent to make the pudding. so nice to have the batter made up ahead of time. So good and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Roast was great- be careful not to overcook! The Yorkshire pudding was awful- nobody asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My husband said the Yorkshire Pudding was better than his mother's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Fabulous recipe, the yorkshire pudding was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I've been making my mother-in-law's delicious recipe for 30 years... tried this one, which is a little different and WOW!!! It's a new favorite! And about the egg thing... if you are familiar with Yorkshire, you know egg quantity can be adjusted to individual preference! YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was good, and I was glad for the advice to not overcook. I added all the garlic peices, and I think that was wasted time and work. I could not taste the garlic in the meat, and I was afraid I was going to bite into a large garlic sliver as I was eating. I was serving this to adults and children, and I think it would have been easier and just as tasty to omit the garlic. I thought the puddings were a little too "eggy". Next time I will use half as many eggs about 3-4. I made 6 puddings in a popover pan, and 12 more in a muffin tin-more than enough. The au jus was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States