Pride Of Iowa Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is the best cookie recipe in the world. It can take lots of tinkering and still be great. It's fine without the coconut or walnuts. My husband loves it with raisins; my daughter loves it with chocolate chips. I substitute whole wheat flour for health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
these are the cookies of my childhood and I love them still. Now, I make them with my children. It's a great recipe for lots of helping hands as there are lots of things to measure. These are worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
As a proud Iowa native, this recipe certainly caught my eye! I took one of the suggestions and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and the cookies were amazing. Next up: I think I'll use them for ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
These are truly one of the best cookies I have ever had. Thanks Beulah!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
The best cookie I ever tasted. It's got everything -- brown sugar, butter, nuts, oatmeal, coconut,everything yummy that a cookie should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
These great little cookies taste just like "Dad's" cookies that you buy in the store. They are nice and crunchy with terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
There's some work and expense involved in making these cookies, but it's well worth it! You will easily become addicted. These cookies have become a Christmas special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Fantastic recipe. My tip would be to use butter instead of shortening (makes all the difference). Also, I found that when I baked the cookies a couple minutes longer than required to get them to golden brown-ness, I found they were a little too hard, albeit looking perfect. So if you're looking for a chewy cookie, only go the allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Truely wonderful cookies! Everyone loves them...even my picky children. I used whole wheat flower instead of white...that way I can pack as much nutrition in as possible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These cookies are great! I am addicted to them. I used half butter and half shortening. Crispy outside, semi chewy inside. Try these and enjoy the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States