Pride Of Iowa Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made a recipe very similar to this one, and it turned out very well. Instead of shortening I used butter, and I switched the vanilla and walnuts for almond extract and finely chopped almonds. Like someone else mentioned, I added the eggs before the dry ingredients and the nuts/oats/coconut after the dry ingredients (folded them in). I hope that helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
The cookie itself deserves three stars - it's an average, decent oatmeal cookie. However, the listing of ingredients and the directions are so poorly written that the recipe's rating has to be docked for it. The listing of ingredients is out of order, and the method incorrect. Novice or beginner bakers will not know that the traditionally recognized method is to cream the sugar and shortening or butter together, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda, then add to your creamed mixture just until thoroughly mixed. Stir in the oatmeal, coconut and walnuts last. (I also added a cup of dried cranberries which was a nice, fall addition) I almost forgot to include the white sugar just because the list of ingredients was so out of order and mixed up! Finally, I made my cookies larger than called for, placed them on UN-greased cookie sheets and still only had to bake them for 12 minutes. I can't imagine how overbaked these would have been if teaspoonful-sized cookies were baked for 15 minutes. The cookies themselves were ok, tho' a little on the dry side - I think reducing the flour to 1-1/2 cups would be a good modification to the recipe. I cannot recommend this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
When I first read the directions I was leary about stirring in the eggs after the dry ingreds. were added. I have never seen a recipe like this. Well I was astounded at how bad these cookies were. I wasted alot of nuts raisens and oats. My whole family was displeased, it all went in the trash. The dough crumbled and wouldn't stay together enough to even make a ball shape. After cooking I found they had fallen apart on the sheet. I rechecked th recipe 4 times to see if I messed up, it wasn't me it was the recipe. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
As a proud Iowa native, this recipe certainly caught my eye! I took one of the suggestions and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and the cookies were amazing. Next up: I think I'll use them for ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was an okay cookie, but I agree with the others that it might be a better cookie with butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
These cookies may look plain (no chips or chunks) but they are delicious! The coconut and walnut work well together, and the oatmeal makes them chewy and yummy. (I only baked mine until they were just turning golden, not the full time.) A new favorite! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Truely wonderful cookies! Everyone loves them...even my picky children. I used whole wheat flower instead of white...that way I can pack as much nutrition in as possible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Fantastic recipe. My tip would be to use butter instead of shortening (makes all the difference). Also, I found that when I baked the cookies a couple minutes longer than required to get them to golden brown-ness, I found they were a little too hard, albeit looking perfect. So if you're looking for a chewy cookie, only go the allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is the best cookie recipe in the world. It can take lots of tinkering and still be great. It's fine without the coconut or walnuts. My husband loves it with raisins; my daughter loves it with chocolate chips. I substitute whole wheat flour for health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
These great little cookies taste just like "Dad's" cookies that you buy in the store. They are nice and crunchy with terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States