Pride Of Iowa Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was an okay cookie, but I agree with the others that it might be a better cookie with butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Truely wonderful cookies! Everyone loves them...even my picky children. I used whole wheat flower instead of white...that way I can pack as much nutrition in as possible. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Fantastic recipe. My tip would be to use butter instead of shortening (makes all the difference). Also, I found that when I baked the cookies a couple minutes longer than required to get them to golden brown-ness, I found they were a little too hard, albeit looking perfect. So if you're looking for a chewy cookie, only go the allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
There's some work and expense involved in making these cookies, but it's well worth it! You will easily become addicted. These cookies have become a Christmas special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
When I first read the directions I was leary about stirring in the eggs after the dry ingreds. were added. I have never seen a recipe like this. Well I was astounded at how bad these cookies were. I wasted alot of nuts raisens and oats. My whole family was displeased, it all went in the trash. The dough crumbled and wouldn't stay together enough to even make a ball shape. After cooking I found they had fallen apart on the sheet. I rechecked th recipe 4 times to see if I messed up, it wasn't me it was the recipe. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
These great little cookies taste just like "Dad's" cookies that you buy in the store. They are nice and crunchy with terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
The best cookie I ever tasted. It's got everything -- brown sugar, butter, nuts, oatmeal, coconut,everything yummy that a cookie should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
These are truly one of the best cookies I have ever had. Thanks Beulah!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States