Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are so easy! I placed the pecan half on top before I put them in the oven and gently pressed down on each one when I took them out. It sort of toasted the pecan a bit & worked like a dream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Ridiculously easy and Delicious...Everyone loved them and thought I slaved melting chocolate and caramel, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are AWESOME! So quick to make and they are delicious. If using unroasted pecans, be sure to toast them first to give them the crunch and bring out the nuttiness (275F for 10-15 minutes). These, plus the Frosted Pecan Bites and the Cinnamon Roasted Almonds (both from this site) make up our Christmas snack bags for coworkers. It took about 2 and a half minutes to melt perfectly - enough to let the pecan be squished in, but not enough to melt out onto the aluminum foil and for the caramel to explode out (making it really hard to rip apart and not stick to things). Try 1 tray first and evaluate how it all worked out before throwing in the next tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a favorite in my house. I use the Snyder's of Hanover Waffle Squares. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Used Rolos instead & LOVE them! One thing tho, make sure not to leave them in the oven too long or they'll spread. I took mine out after 2 minutes & it was almost too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great combination, easy to do and looks very festive on a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used Rolo as per another reviewer's suggestion and these came out great! So delicious and so easy! What I did was take the foil off the cookie sheet and put it in the fridge to cool. They were taking way to long to cool and harden at room temp. If you put them in the fridge then you can be cooking another batch while that one cools and make a ton in just a short period of time. I'm going to giving these to everyone I know for Christmas. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I probably make at least 100 of these every Christmas! They're so quick, easy, and delicious! Everyone always loves them. I use Rolos and they work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolehall711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Super simple crowd pleaser, I added a little sprinkle of sea salt after I put the pecans on and made some with walnuts since my husband doesn't like pecans. Outside of opening a box of turtles, it doesn't get much easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made over 300 of these today for a large party. Today was the first time I had ever made these turtles. I used Dove chocolates filled with caramel. My suggestions for 1st timers: 1) Remove candies from wrappers a day or two before actually making the turtles. 2) Toast pecans the day before also...don't skip this step...they taste so much better when the pecans are pre-toasted. 3) I tested different oven temps. and found 275 degrees at 3 minutes to be the best. 4) Place pecan on top of chocolate piece BEFORE placing in oven. This way, when removed from heat, all you need to do is press down gently on each pecan. 5) Be prepared to store these in a cool/cold garage-type area after making. This is how they store best until consumed. 6) If making in a hot/humid climate, you will need to refrigerate these to "set" and then keep them in refrigerator....otherwise, they will be too messy. These turned out to be more expensive than I had originally planned. Also, very labor intensive since I had to make so many and had no help. Still, they are quite good to eat. If you use Dove dark chocolate caramel or Dove chocolate with peanut butter, less time will be needed in the oven......about 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,052) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States