Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I also added one hersheys milk chocolate bliss square to add more chocolate. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe is SUPER EASY!! Love that! After reading reviews, I decided to use Dove chocolate covered caramels. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper, then put down my pretzels with a chocolate and then my pecan. The first batch I baked for 3 minutes on 350, and the caramel started leaking out onto my cookie sheet after I gently pushed the pecan down into the chocolate. With the second batch, I baked then at 350 for 2 minutes. Turned out perfect. Everyone that has tried them, love it!! This recipe is going into my file for easy/fast holiday treats! Re-review with new method - So I made this this morning for a Post Superbowl treat contest here at work. I didnt have time to make them in advance, and after reading a few of the reviews - I saw that a few had used the microwave. If you're going to use this method, only microwave the pretzle and chocolate for 10-15 seconds TOPS. I put it in for 30 and there was caramel everywhere on the plate. Maybe its cause I used Dove chocolate caramels instead of Rolos (and the Rolos have a thicker chocolate coating).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used the square small pretzels, rolos and toasted pecans. I have a gas oven and have come to realize that it bakes quicker. I left mine in for 3 minutes and before I could get all the pecans on my rolos had pretty much melted into a mess. I did salvage them and will make them again but will only leave in the oven for 2 minutes and see how that works. Once the cooled they were eadible but not so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are so easy! I placed the pecan half on top before I put them in the oven and gently pressed down on each one when I took them out. It sort of toasted the pecan a bit & worked like a dream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Ridiculously easy and Delicious...Everyone loved them and thought I slaved melting chocolate and caramel, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are AWESOME! So quick to make and they are delicious. If using unroasted pecans, be sure to toast them first to give them the crunch and bring out the nuttiness (275F for 10-15 minutes). These, plus the Frosted Pecan Bites and the Cinnamon Roasted Almonds (both from this site) make up our Christmas snack bags for coworkers. It took about 2 and a half minutes to melt perfectly - enough to let the pecan be squished in, but not enough to melt out onto the aluminum foil and for the caramel to explode out (making it really hard to rip apart and not stick to things). Try 1 tray first and evaluate how it all worked out before throwing in the next tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a favorite in my house. I use the Snyder's of Hanover Waffle Squares. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Used Rolos instead & LOVE them! One thing tho, make sure not to leave them in the oven too long or they'll spread. I took mine out after 2 minutes & it was almost too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Great combination, easy to do and looks very festive on a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used Rolo as per another reviewer's suggestion and these came out great! So delicious and so easy! What I did was take the foil off the cookie sheet and put it in the fridge to cool. They were taking way to long to cool and harden at room temp. If you put them in the fridge then you can be cooking another batch while that one cools and make a ton in just a short period of time. I'm going to giving these to everyone I know for Christmas. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,045) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States