Pretzel Turtles® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I used Rolo as per another reviewer's suggestion and these came out great! So delicious and so easy! What I did was take the foil off the cookie sheet and put it in the fridge to cool. They were taking way to long to cool and harden at room temp. If you put them in the fridge then you can be cooking another batch while that one cools and make a ton in just a short period of time. I'm going to giving these to everyone I know for Christmas. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I probably make at least 100 of these every Christmas! They're so quick, easy, and delicious! Everyone always loves them. I use Rolos and they work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Super simple crowd pleaser, I added a little sprinkle of sea salt after I put the pecans on and made some with walnuts since my husband doesn't like pecans. Outside of opening a box of turtles, it doesn't get much easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made over 300 of these today for a large party. Today was the first time I had ever made these turtles. I used Dove chocolates filled with caramel. My suggestions for 1st timers: 1) Remove candies from wrappers a day or two before actually making the turtles. 2) Toast pecans the day before also...don't skip this step...they taste so much better when the pecans are pre-toasted. 3) I tested different oven temps. and found 275 degrees at 3 minutes to be the best. 4) Place pecan on top of chocolate piece BEFORE placing in oven. This way, when removed from heat, all you need to do is press down gently on each pecan. 5) Be prepared to store these in a cool/cold garage-type area after making. This is how they store best until consumed. 6) If making in a hot/humid climate, you will need to refrigerate these to "set" and then keep them in refrigerator....otherwise, they will be too messy. These turned out to be more expensive than I had originally planned. Also, very labor intensive since I had to make so many and had no help. Still, they are quite good to eat. If you use Dove dark chocolate caramel or Dove chocolate with peanut butter, less time will be needed in the oven......about 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I've been making these for years and they are loved by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Love these! Easy to make. Usually double the recipe, and I used Rolos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
A little salty and a little sweet - a perfect combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were quick and easy!! Try we're a fun addition to Christmas cookie trays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My family loves these and the ones made with the chocolate kiss candies and M&Ms pressed onto the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were so great! I loved the caramel, chocolate, and salt taste combo. They work well with rolos or dove caramel chocolates. Roasting the pecans for about 6 minutes before putting the pretzels in helped bring out their flavor. The hardest part was trying to stop everyone from eating them all before the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles ®

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States