Pretzel Smoochies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I give this recipe a 5-star by experience.... I have made these treats for years..... but let me give you a tip or 2 to make it easier: 1. Use chocolate WAFERS, not Kisses. Wafers are chocolate discs, sold in a bag specifically for making candy - no need to unwrap! You can buy them from craft stores like AC Moore (in many different colors!) or from grocery stores that sell bulk foods. 2. Spread out the pretzels, a wafer balanced on top of each one, on a cookie sheet so they are not touching - no need for aluminum foil. 3. I put mine in a 250 oven for 10 minutes.... a little longer & cooler than written here, but it's really important to make the chocolate SOFT, but NOT melted! 4. Press the M&M down enough to make the softened choc. wafter hug the pretzel... then let it cool COMPLETELY! (If it doesn't, the chocolate will fall off when you move it.) I like to make several cookie trays full right before bed, then leave them sit out on the counter overnight & put away in the am. *They are wonderful holiday treats! I have made red & green ones at Christmas, ones in school colors for a graduation party, and at Easter: use pretzel snaps (looks like a basket weave), green wafers (like Easter grass), & egg-shaped M&M's on top. ALWAYS A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I let my 5 year old make these, I just helped with the oven. He was so proud of himself! I love these simple recipes that the kids think are so much fun and the end product is a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
easy to make, but mine took more like 4 minutes, with checking every minute. I then pushed m&m's immediately as they start cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Hershey kisses do not soften because they changed their chocolate ingredients. I used the Hershey creams and it worked much better. Also, if you are lucky, you can find butter pretzels that are in the shape of trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. It was a big hit over Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made these using square pretzels for my friends' 80's party - it was the ideal combination of brightly-colored M&Ms and geometric shapes to be 80s-esque, and quick prep time. I should have taken a pic before I left my house, because they were gobbled up too quickly after I got to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Epic fail. Tried aluminum foil, parchment, adjusted heat lower, higher heat the chocolate wouldn't melt and crumbled when pushing the m&m in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yummy, exactly what I expected. A little of a pain in the butt. Oven time should've been a tad longer I think in my oven. Didn't set up in 30 minutes either, refrigerated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Came out perfect! Heated mine at 325 for 1 min 30 seconds convection! Kids love them! Great quick fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I've made these a couple of times now, and they are always a hit! Sweet and salty all in one bite - who wouldn't love that? Couple of tips . . . 1)These melt FAST! Don't walk away from the oven. Keep a close eye on them. Mine took about 1-1/2 minutes . .. I removed, and you really need to let them sit for a minute before trying to place the M&M. 2)This recipe DOES NOT work with the "filled" kisses (cherry flavored, caramel, mint, etc). I tried it, it doesn't work. The filling just gushes out and makes a huge mess. ONLY use regular Hershey kisses, or the PLAIN HUGS. 3) I recommend using Reynolds non-stick foil or a silicone baking mat. Removal is a breeze with both of these, as long as you make sure they are set before removing. 4) To speed setting, place cookie sheet in the frig for a few minutes, but if you leave them refrigerated, the chocolate will turn white. Thanks for sharing this fast, easy, creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States