Pretzel Smoochies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
easy to make, but mine took more like 4 minutes, with checking every minute. I then pushed m&m's immediately as they start cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I give this recipe a 5-star by experience.... I have made these treats for years..... but let me give you a tip or 2 to make it easier: 1. Use chocolate WAFERS, not Kisses. Wafers are chocolate discs, sold in a bag specifically for making candy - no need to unwrap! You can buy them from craft stores like AC Moore (in many different colors!) or from grocery stores that sell bulk foods. 2. Spread out the pretzels, a wafer balanced on top of each one, on a cookie sheet so they are not touching - no need for aluminum foil. 3. I put mine in a 250 oven for 10 minutes.... a little longer & cooler than written here, but it's really important to make the chocolate SOFT, but NOT melted! 4. Press the M&M down enough to make the softened choc. wafter hug the pretzel... then let it cool COMPLETELY! (If it doesn't, the chocolate will fall off when you move it.) I like to make several cookie trays full right before bed, then leave them sit out on the counter overnight & put away in the am. *They are wonderful holiday treats! I have made red & green ones at Christmas, ones in school colors for a graduation party, and at Easter: use pretzel snaps (looks like a basket weave), green wafers (like Easter grass), & egg-shaped M&M's on top. ALWAYS A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I let my 5 year old make these, I just helped with the oven. He was so proud of himself! I love these simple recipes that the kids think are so much fun and the end product is a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made these using square pretzels for my friends' 80's party - it was the ideal combination of brightly-colored M&Ms and geometric shapes to be 80s-esque, and quick prep time. I should have taken a pic before I left my house, because they were gobbled up too quickly after I got to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I've been making them for years but we never knew what to call them. We called them pretzel kisses but I like smoochies better!! I prefer to make these with the fat type of mini pretzels, regular shape of pretzels. They don't look as pretty but the middles tend to pop out on the round pretzels. You can also make these with rolo candies and squish a pecan on the top for a turtle type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made this recipe for a fund raiser at work and it was a huge hit. So I then decided to get a little creative and alternated the Hershey Kisses with Hugs. Sent those off to my daughter away at college and the girls on her floor ate all 200 within 20 minutes of opening the package. Just tried making a batch with Kraft Caramels and a pecan half. Works just as well; only you need to add an extra 45 seconds to the oven time. Melts much better if you use the Wilton Cany melts as opposed to the Hershey Kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are incredible! My sister in law makes them every year and they don't last long. I made them once, but got annoyed at unwrapping all the hershey kisses. She can keep making them -- I'll eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Yummy, exactly what I expected. A little of a pain in the butt. Oven time should've been a tad longer I think in my oven. Didn't set up in 30 minutes either, refrigerated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Another favorite! Used a variety of candy making discs for color as well as different Kisses. Very festive, very easy and waaaay to addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Be careful with oven temps and times! Only took all of 2 minutes at 275 for me. Put them in the fridge to set, as per another reviewer. Might try the chocolate wafers next time for different colors. These are a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States