Pretzel Smoochies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I've made these a couple of times now, and they are always a hit! Sweet and salty all in one bite - who wouldn't love that? Couple of tips . . . 1)These melt FAST! Don't walk away from the oven. Keep a close eye on them. Mine took about 1-1/2 minutes . .. I removed, and you really need to let them sit for a minute before trying to place the M&M. 2)This recipe DOES NOT work with the "filled" kisses (cherry flavored, caramel, mint, etc). I tried it, it doesn't work. The filling just gushes out and makes a huge mess. ONLY use regular Hershey kisses, or the PLAIN HUGS. 3) I recommend using Reynolds non-stick foil or a silicone baking mat. Removal is a breeze with both of these, as long as you make sure they are set before removing. 4) To speed setting, place cookie sheet in the frig for a few minutes, but if you leave them refrigerated, the chocolate will turn white. Thanks for sharing this fast, easy, creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. It was a big hit over Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I bought regular kisses and mint kisses and the mint turned out MUCH better. The plain kisses did NOT melt well and did not have much taste. However, the mint was a perfect taste. I got these at Christmas time so I'm not sure if the mint kisses are sold year around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I ruined a whole bag of kisses -Left in oven for too long, even after just a couple of minutes. After reading older reviews and some research online, I realized: a. Oven temp for my oven too high and b. Hershey kisses are not meant to soften or melt so well in this method. I was able to salvage a batch by using little cubes of homemade fudge instead of kisses, and lowering the oven temp to 225. Chocolate softened (not melted) in just 3-4 minutes. Pushed the m & m's in immediately, then chilled the batch in the fridge for a couple of hours. I also used regular-shaped mini pretzels, so they looked like little reindeer. Tasted good, but still a disappointment with all the tweaking and waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe and used dark chocolate because our family likes it better and it would cut down the sweetness. I found out by trial and error that it does not melt the same way (or at all) so it was a flop! I took off the dark chocolate and will go to the grocery store tomorrow to get the milk chocolates and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made these using square pretzels. I am packaging them up and giving them as a gift to my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Not sure why I had such trouble with these...my kisses wouldn't melt! I ended up sticking all the kisses in a double boiler with some milk and dropped the chocolate into each pretzel... that worked, but what a pain in the butt!! They are super yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
2 min at 350 seemed perfect. Less time, and the m&m would not sink into the chocolate. Longer, and the chocolate dried out and cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Be careful with oven temps and times! Only took all of 2 minutes at 275 for me. Put them in the fridge to set, as per another reviewer. Might try the chocolate wafers next time for different colors. These are a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Another favorite! Used a variety of candy making discs for color as well as different Kisses. Very festive, very easy and waaaay to addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States