Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a good dessert - the picture on this recipe is a little deceiving...it's not a trifle...it must be baked in a 9x13 pan. Otherwise, great stuff. Best on the 1st day. Crust can get a little soggy. To stop strawberry mixture from running into cream cheese - refrigerate *well* after adding cream cheese layer and before adding strawberry layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is the best pretzel salad from this site. For some reason the ingredient measurements are perfect and they work. Delicious. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I had a similar recipe years ago and had lost it and missed it. When I found this I made it for my family at Thanksgiving. My boyfriend ate about 1/3 of it before we even got to my Mom's house. I had to make it a second time that weekend. I also do frozen raspberries with raspberry jello, and I found I prefer pretzel crumbs to crushed pretzels with bigger pieces. I now crumb them in the blender. I also think the 1/3 less fat than cream cheese neufchatel cheese is better tasting in this than cream cheeses (and I by far generally prefer cream cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
So delicious and easy. If you let each layer cool and sit completely (the crust, cream cheese and fruit jello top), it all stays intact with no soggy crust. Perfect recipe for the Holiday BBQ. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I'm only giving this recipe one star because it's ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE that you refrigerate the cream layer fully before adding the jello layer! I'd even refrigerate the jello but not allow it to start setting. This really should be included in the recipe! I added cooled jello over the cream cheese mixture, and the cream cheese is clumping and floating to the surface. PLEASE REFRIGERATE IF YOU WANT THEM TO REMAIN FULLY SEPARATE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Excellent recipe, only make sure that you thaw the strawberries before adding to the jello because your jello will freeze up and not have a smooth texture. Because the recipes didnt specify on the strawberries my jello was lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLeon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I love this salty- sweet combination. I even made it low sugar using splenda & sugar free jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
a couple of years ago I attended a baby shower for a friend and the young lady's godmother had prepared this jello with a couple of modifications--she used raspberry jello and frozen raspberries to replace the "strawberries" and a very unique twist; instead of crushing the pretzels she left them whole I love to cook and eat, so of course I asked her for this recipe and she would not share. My daughter and came home and found this recipe and modified it--IT IS delicious--each time I make it I always get complements and requests for the recipe--and of course I give it to everyone---so you may want to experiment and see the uniqueness that the whole pretzels have on the salad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a very delicious salad/dessert. The problem with it is that the pretzel crust always gets soggy the second day and makes it unappetizing. A friend of mine brought her version to a pot luck and she had inverted the ingredients...jello first, cream cheese second, and pretzels last. It was still just as beautiful and good tasting and the pretzels didn't get soggy! I thought you may want to try it and see what you think. I'll always do it upside down now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
My family has made this recipe for years, except we use pinapple juice instead of water in the gelatin to give it more zing, and top with fresh fruit to match the flavor gelatin used (usually strawberry or raspberry). Wonderful desert and can be made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Wiggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States