Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic, you have to make it. Put cream cheese and whipped topping in refrigerator for 1/2 hour or so to stiffen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I've made a similar dessert without the pretzel crust...so going to make this with an added layer of green jello with crushed pineapple over the crust, the cream cheese layer, and the red jello on top for a holiday themed dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have made this many times in the past and love it! I could never get the pretzel layer right though as it never hardens enough. (I use unsalted crushed pretzels.) I make sure each layer is cooled before adding the next layer to the dish. I end up having to drop (with a spoon) the cream cheese/ cool whip layer on top of pretzels because they are still loose and not sticking together. Don't know how to fix this. I mix the jello and frozen strawberries together and let it cool in the fridge for a bit. When it starts to jell, that's when I add it as the next layer. This is an extended family favorite, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Great recipe!! I have been making it for years. It is not a trifle recipe, and I would put it in a 13x9 inch dish. After mixing the frozen strawberries in the jello I put it in the refrigerator until it is soupy. Which only takes a few minutes!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It's a great recipe...I'm going to make it for dessert to bring to our potluck Christmas supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moms little Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was good. I will try to reduce the calories next time I make it by using some of the suggestions in the comments. I reduced the recipe by half and used and 8x8 glass square pan. I made the pretzel crust and the cream cheese topping the night before. I stored both separately in the fridge over night. In the morning I prepared the fruit/jello mixture (after defrosting berries.). I allowed this to chill for 45 minutes. Meanwhile I spread the cream cheese layer on the crust then chilled again. I added the berry mixture, covered and chilled for four hours. It was delicious, if a little too sweet, and sliced perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this for years. It is always a big hit at family gatherings and potlucks. The sweet and salty combination is wonderful. Most people never guess that the crust is made from pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a very delicious salad/dessert. The problem with it is that the pretzel crust always gets soggy the second day and makes it unappetizing. A friend of mine brought her version to a pot luck and she had inverted the ingredients...jello first, cream cheese second, and pretzels last. It was still just as beautiful and good tasting and the pretzels didn't get soggy! I thought you may want to try it and see what you think. I'll always do it upside down now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great recipe only one flaw with the directions. When it says to add the sugar to the cream cheese and whipped topping, it doesn't tell you how much to add either the 3/4 cup or the 2 tsp. I knew which to add because I do all the kitchen work at my house but for the new people they won't know so can you update your directions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShayGotCha
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe is just like my moms-almost- my moms has 3 tablespoons in the pretzel mixture and 1 cup of sugar and 8 oz of cool whip in the creamcheese mixture! Like other reviews: BE SURE TO LET THE BOTTOM LAYER COOL, REFRIDGORATE THE MIDDLE LAYER, AND I EVAN PUT THE JELLO MIXTURE IN THE FRIDGE BEFORE PUTING TO LAYERS TOGETHER, TO INSURE THE LAYER STAY IN THEIR CORRECT SPOT! also mix the sugar and cream cheese well before adding the cool whip. I also take my finger around the edge of the dish after i put the cream cheese layer in, that way I make sure that no jello gets into the pretzel part. I love this dish! Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States