Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this tonight and it is so awesomely good!! I had no problem with the pretzel crust. Came out perfect. I let it cool for about 1/2 hour. (For the cream cheese mixture I used confectioners sugar-same amount instead of white sugar) Been making this cream cheese mixture for 35 years now and always with confectioners sugar. (I make it to put in a graham cracker crust-chill and either eat it plain or with blueberry or cherry pie filling on top) I layered the cream cheese mixture on top of the pretzel crust and made sure it was all the way to the edges to keep jello from seeping through. (I used 3 8oz. cream cheese for more flavor and a thicker layer) I didn't chill after this layer. I poured the cooled jello on top and then added the strawberries so that I could spread them all over evenly. I used frozen strawberries cut in 1/2 and added about 1/3 cup sugar to them to take some of the tartness away as they were thawing. After 4 hours the jello was still not set up so I put it in the freezer for about 45 mins. and then it was perfect!!! Will definitely be making this again. Might try the raspberries and raspberry jello next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Adams Hogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was very much a disappointment. The picture of the truffle dish was never mentioned in the recipe. I would of used a smaller square pan and you have to cool the layers before adding the gelatin mixture. When I followed the directions I had a huge ugly mess that even my kids didn't like. No I wouldn't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froglady1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Fantastic, you have to make it. Put cream cheese and whipped topping in refrigerator for 1/2 hour or so to stiffen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I've made a similar dessert without the pretzel crust...so going to make this with an added layer of green jello with crushed pineapple over the crust, the cream cheese layer, and the red jello on top for a holiday themed dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have made this many times in the past and love it! I could never get the pretzel layer right though as it never hardens enough. (I use unsalted crushed pretzels.) I make sure each layer is cooled before adding the next layer to the dish. I end up having to drop (with a spoon) the cream cheese/ cool whip layer on top of pretzels because they are still loose and not sticking together. Don't know how to fix this. I mix the jello and frozen strawberries together and let it cool in the fridge for a bit. When it starts to jell, that's when I add it as the next layer. This is an extended family favorite, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Great recipe!! I have been making it for years. It is not a trifle recipe, and I would put it in a 13x9 inch dish. After mixing the frozen strawberries in the jello I put it in the refrigerator until it is soupy. Which only takes a few minutes!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It's a great recipe...I'm going to make it for dessert to bring to our potluck Christmas supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Kolundzic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was good. I will try to reduce the calories next time I make it by using some of the suggestions in the comments. I reduced the recipe by half and used and 8x8 glass square pan. I made the pretzel crust and the cream cheese topping the night before. I stored both separately in the fridge over night. In the morning I prepared the fruit/jello mixture (after defrosting berries.). I allowed this to chill for 45 minutes. Meanwhile I spread the cream cheese layer on the crust then chilled again. I added the berry mixture, covered and chilled for four hours. It was delicious, if a little too sweet, and sliced perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making this for years. It is always a big hit at family gatherings and potlucks. The sweet and salty combination is wonderful. Most people never guess that the crust is made from pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a very delicious salad/dessert. The problem with it is that the pretzel crust always gets soggy the second day and makes it unappetizing. A friend of mine brought her version to a pot luck and she had inverted the ingredients...jello first, cream cheese second, and pretzels last. It was still just as beautiful and good tasting and the pretzels didn't get soggy! I thought you may want to try it and see what you think. I'll always do it upside down now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States