Pretzel Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this recipe for a holiday potluck at work. I never ate pretzel salad before, so I decided to make it the day prior for the family. Everyone at home loved it. So, I made the next batch for the potluck and it was a HIT! Everyone at work was asking for the recipe. Even those who said they hated strawberries liked this recipe. I used an entire 8 oz. tub of whipped topping. Also, when making the jello, I dissolved the jello in 1/2 c. boiling water. Then, I added 1 c. of iced water to the jello and then stirred the jello until the ice melted. It was the perfect temperature to immediately top and refrigerate. Also, it cut the four hour refrigeration down to about 2 hours. Thanks for this delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I didn't wait long enough for the jello to cool and set. I waited about 10 minutes. If I made this again I'd try waiting 30 minutes at least. Also using twice or triple the amount of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this for the senior center and it was a winner. Easy to make and tastes wonderful. Let gelatin mixture thicken 30 mins in refrigerator before pouring on filling layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I LOVE this salad!! With trial and error, I've gotten the steps down. This is what works for me, make sure you "seal" around the edges of your baking dish with the cream cheese mixture. So when you pour the jello part on, the pretzels won't get soggy. Also, once the cream cheese layer is on make sure it is room temp before pouring the jello part on. Mine jello was still a little hot when I poured it onto the cream cheese part that I had just taking out of the fridge and the hot jello cracked the cream cheese layer and seeped into the pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This is a great recipe, however when I made it the first time I did not understand the directions clearly and did not let the gelatin mixture cool completely before placing over the cream cheese layer. The entire dish bubbled and mixted together. It did not look the best, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
You can't go wrong with this pretzel salad, everyone loves it. To the reviewer below, you need the 3/4 c. butter so your pretzel crust doesn't stick to the pan. Also, make sure your gelatin mixture isn't too liquidy before you pour over the pretzel crust. Let it thicken more than just 'slightly.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Tastes good. However I can never get the cream cheese layer right. Once I add the jello, it seeps through to the bottom, and the layers are all innertwined. I will continue to practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
You cannot go wrong with this recipe. Made it for a few friends and they all asked for the recipe. Thanks for the post...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
My mom has made a variation of this recipe for years and it's always a hit! I took it to Food Day at work and got rave reviews. Plus, leftovers never last long. The only modification I made was to use half a cup of butter in the crust.. three-quarters of a cup just seemed like too much. I think next time I'll use more pretzels for a thicker crust. From one Sarah to another, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I love this! the salty crunch of the pretzel crust and the sweet, cream-cheese layer, goes fabulous with the jello strawberry layer. I have made many times and prefer it less sweet, though. I use only 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 3oz of sugar-free cherry jello and 3oz box of regular cherry. It's less calories and still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States