Pretzel Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excellent blend of sweet and salty. I had no problems with the layers blending. I did let my strawberries thaw and cut the water down just a bit. My jello layer was too firm so next time I will add the recommended amount of water. The crust sweet/salty ratio was perfect. It got rave reviews at my Mother's Day dinner, even with the firm jello layer! I did ad another layer of cool whip as another reviewer posted. I don't think I would like it as well without it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I just made this dessert for Easter, it was easy to put together and looked pretty. I used lowfat cream cheese and whipped topping (that was fine). The mistake I made was to use sugar-free gelatin, a bad taste between the salty crust and splenda sweeten jello. Next time I will use the good old sugar based gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very Good! We make this for EVERY holiday in my family. We love the salty sweet combination. Followed the recipe exactly only I topped mine with additional whipped topping and sprinkled with crushed nuts. YUM! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Awesome! My aunt used to make this when I was a little girl. I substituted the strawberry gelatin and frozen strawberries for cherry. I don't like frozen strawberries. It was just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a favorite at our house. I use raspberry jello and frozen raspberries because I don't care for frozen strawberries. This year I got a lot of compliments...more than usual. This year I had pretzel rods on hand so I got out my food processor to crush these big pretzels. I crush them to very fine, like graham cracker crumbs. I think this made the difference this year. I have also mixed some almonds in with the pretzels in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is a wounderful dish for any holiday gathering. I use Cherry Jello and Frozen cherries instead of strawberry. My entire family begs me to make this every year. This year my mother finally decided to try it and ask if she could keep what was left. Which was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes. You can mix it up by adding different fruit (such as bananas) or using a different flavor jello. I also substituted low fat cream cheese and cool whip for full fat products to make it a little less fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I am giving this four stars, despite the fact that it looks to be DELICIOUS, because the amount of jello is grossly underestimated. Unless I did something wrong, in using 3 C frozen strawberries (thawed slightly), they actually froze the jello while it was chilling, and I believe they absorbed some of the jello (I even used 2 boxes!) The result of my creation was a crummy top layer of strawberries with a bit of jello. If someone can assist me in perfecting this, I would be VERY HAPPY. I also used applesauce instead of butter in the crust, used honey wheat pretzels, fat free cream cheese, and sugar free jello. I hope that this is killer like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Tastes good. However I can never get the cream cheese layer right. Once I add the jello, it seeps through to the bottom, and the layers are all innertwined. I will continue to practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I didn't even have to make you recipe to rate it...I've made this many times before and it is my favorite! If you haven't tried this before, it is surprisingly great! I will say I've tried it once with low fat cream cheese/fat free cool whip. It still tasted very good, but did not hold its form well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States