Pretzel Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
this recipe is awesome! i substituted 3/4 c. all natural applesauce instead of the butter for an even healthier version! otherwise, the saltiness is to die for-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I have used a version of this crust for years. Regular granulated sugar works fine instead of brown sugar. Try a filling of 2 qts softened vanilla ice cream (lowfat is fine)mixed with a 12-oz can lemonade or limeade, slightly thawed. I used the Kitchen-Aid paddle attachment to mix them so they're real smooth. Pour filling into cooled 13x9 pretzel crust, then freeze until firm. Sprinkle a slight handful of toasted pretzel crust mixture over the top just before serving for a nice garnish and extra crunch. Most refreshing pie in the WORLD. We can't get enough of it in the summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This is a great crust!! Like the reviewer before me, it works great with Strawberry pie (sweet but a touch of salt). However, if you bake in the 9x13 baking dish, it gets difficult to transfer to a pie pan...therefore, just fill the pie plans you wish to use with it and bake. Also, I don't bake for the full 10 minutes...only 6-8 minutes, which doesn't sound like much of a difference but 10 minutes (for me anyways) always results in a too tough pie crust. Baking a few minutes less makes the finished pie easier to cut and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Really really good - but make sure to crush up the pretzels COMPLETELY because I had some chunks that made pressing it into the pie plate a little difficult. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I used half the amount of sugar for the crust and filled with my strawberry pie recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Good with key lime. Love this . :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I always have soooo many pretzels left over from those huge Costco bags, this is a great use for them! "Waste not, want not."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a fabulous substitution for a graham cracker crust. I have recently started using honey wheat pretzels because they are lower in sodium. Very nice salty sweet taste without the salt overpowering like regular pretezels can do sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I used this crust for a quiche last week and it was excellent. It did not get soggy like pasty often does with quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I used 1 cup of margarine and 1/3 cup of brown sugar and used a springform pan. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States