Pretzel Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Came out OK.... but very crumbly. I followed directions exactly and for whatever reason, it just didn't bind well. On the upside, it was a nice compliment to a lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a fabulous substitution for a graham cracker crust. I have recently started using honey wheat pretzels because they are lower in sodium. Very nice salty sweet taste without the salt overpowering like regular pretezels can do sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good! Great way to use up pretzels. I used it for a fruit pizza with pineapple, blueberries & grapes & coolwhip/cream cheese mixture. I took the advice of another user who said they only cook it 6-8 minutes, but I should have gone the full 10. I just moved to Oregon and should have realized with the high altitude that it needed longer cooking time. just FYI! Thanks for sharing. Want to try it for quiche some time! p.s. i halved recipe & cooked in 8x8. worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I always have soooo many pretzels left over from those huge Costco bags, this is a great use for them! "Waste not, want not."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I have used a version of this crust for years. Regular granulated sugar works fine instead of brown sugar. Try a filling of 2 qts softened vanilla ice cream (lowfat is fine)mixed with a 12-oz can lemonade or limeade, slightly thawed. I used the Kitchen-Aid paddle attachment to mix them so they're real smooth. Pour filling into cooled 13x9 pretzel crust, then freeze until firm. Sprinkle a slight handful of toasted pretzel crust mixture over the top just before serving for a nice garnish and extra crunch. Most refreshing pie in the WORLD. We can't get enough of it in the summertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This works very well for an unbaked cheese torte. I add a can of cherry pie filling on top of the crust(reserving some of the crust mixture for the top) then my cheese torte and top reserved pretzel mixture. The combination of salty and sweet are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Unexpected and delicious addition to key lime pie. Perfect when you want Salty and Sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This tasted fine, but was very crumbly and fell apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I had trouble getting the brown sugar lumps to smooth out. Therefore, I recommend blending the margarine and sugar alone before adding the pretzels. Also, size is very important. Some of mine were not crushed small enough, and the crust fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I love this recipie. its great. It smells so great on a summer day! I allowed mine to cool after baking and filled them with my summer strawberry pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States