Pretzel Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead of ap flour, oil instead of shortening, and 3 T honey in place of the sugar. They are relatively easy to make, and were loved by my family! I'l be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The measurements seemed off in this one. I combined this and the Mall Pretzels recipe from this site to create my own and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
A Vegan Alternative - and it's perfect! I read all the reviews to check for problems and alternatives. I am a vegan, so I used 2 tsp flax seed, ground, with 3 Tbs water for the eggs. I used soy milk for the milk. Also, in my recipe I used 3 tsp yeast, 2 1/2 cups wheat flour, 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, and oil instead of shortening. The dough was not sticky! And the buns came out perfect! They are soft in the inside, and nicely tanned on the outside with a little crunch. I will use this for all my bread recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
The dough is sticky but the flavor was great. I will make this again but rolll it into roung buns instead of the long sticks. My family loved it and ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These came out fantastic! I made a whole bunch to use as buns for weekday lunch sandwiches! I will most certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
After reading the reviews, the stickiness of the dough seemed to be an issue, so I reduced the amount of milk to 1-3/4 cups. Kept everything else the same (including 6 cups of A/P flour), and let the KA do all of the kneading. This yielded absolutely beautiful dough so easy to work with. I'm new to yeast bread baking, and I wasn't sure what dipping the dough into the baking soda-water mixture did, but you definitely get a little bit of that taste, and that's a good thing, so don't skip this step. I formed these into different shapes...coiled, square, round, made a few bread sticks, and topped with Trader Joe's kosher salt. Next time I make these, I'll make more bread sticks because they are delicious dipped into mustard. The baked bun texture is perfect, the dough very pliable (not at all sticky), and the flavor similar to the mall pretzels. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...this one is going into my favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Pour yourself some AMAZING pretzel rolls! Yes, the dough is VERY sticky...I'd even say "pourable". But don't let this discourage you. I made the dough in a food processor and used less than 5 cups of flour. After looking at the dough with every flour addition I guessed that it was not going to come together in the "ball". I made and educated guess to stop adding flour and pour in the bowl to rise. It rose beautifully! I dipped the measuring cup in flour and floured my hands too before rolling it out. I heated the water and processed the "buns" like baking bagels...not just a quick dip. These came out perfect...my kids gobbled them up and requested the rolls for their lunchboxes! I am glad I used less flour and mixing because more would have yielded tough rolls. I made larger rolls (that had to be cut in half...they were more like mini-loaves) but next time I will make them smaller (like hamburger/slider size). You can shape the rolls...just take your time and keep your hands/counter floured. Mine were tied in cool knots! This recipe is a keeper! Thank you "Brittsky"!!!...my kids thank you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These turned out perfect! I tweaked it just a bit and tossed everything in my bread machine. If I can get it to work in my bread machine then it's a great recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups milk, used 3 cups bread flour and 3 cups AP flour, 6 Tbsp oil and 3 tsp yeast. The dough wasn't sticky at all. Came out very pliable and easy to work with. I divided it into 12 balls, slit an X into the tops dipped each into the hot water bath then let rise for about an hour. Then I brushed with the butter and sprinkled with Kosher salt. Only baked 20 minutes and they were just "crunchy" enough on the tops yet sooo soft inside. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Turned out AWESOME! I used 3 tsp yeast (4 1/2 is too much yeast) and let it proof with the sugar and water. Followed step 2 exactly except I used 1 1/2 c milk (not 2c) in a kitchen aid mixer with bread hook attachment. Slowly added in the remaining 3c flour, and after that I spread flour on countertop to knead the dough. I kept adding a little flour here and there while kneading to keep it from sticking to the counter, then I put the dough ball in a plastic tupperware bowl with seran wrap on top to rise (no need for oil if you use plastic bowl). The dough was sticky but not unmanageable. After it rose I again beat the hell out of the dough on a floured countertop. After it was finished I didn't have time to bake it that day, so I put the spiral dough balls on parchment paper on a baking sheet in the fridge overnight. I did the baking soda hot water dipping right before baking, my rolls were pretty big so they took prob 25-30 min to bake (I kept checking on them). Absolutely awesome recipe, way better than store bought buns!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AutumnW
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made these just as the recipe stated and they turned out perfect!! The kids are in LOVE with them! Yes, the dough is sticky which the recipe said it would be. No biggy!! Just added more flour on the countertop when I rolled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States