Pretzel Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I followed the recipe exactly as written and my buns turned out perfectly. I did not have to "pour" the dough as some other reviewers have stated. The dough was somewhat sticky during the kneading process, but after the rise, it was a perfect consistency. The end product was EXACTLY what I was looking for! My batch yielded 19 buns. Thanks so much for sharing this keeper recipe, Brittskydoodlepoodlepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These turned out perfect! I tweaked it just a bit and tossed everything in my bread machine. If I can get it to work in my bread machine then it's a great recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups milk, used 3 cups bread flour and 3 cups AP flour, 6 Tbsp oil and 3 tsp yeast. The dough wasn't sticky at all. Came out very pliable and easy to work with. I divided it into 12 balls, slit an X into the tops dipped each into the hot water bath then let rise for about an hour. Then I brushed with the butter and sprinkled with Kosher salt. Only baked 20 minutes and they were just "crunchy" enough on the tops yet sooo soft inside. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Photo by AutumnW
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Made these just as the recipe stated and they turned out perfect!! The kids are in LOVE with them! Yes, the dough is sticky which the recipe said it would be. No biggy!! Just added more flour on the countertop when I rolled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Good flavor. Not too difficult. Can't wait to try a sandwich with these buns. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
A Vegan Alternative - and it's perfect! I read all the reviews to check for problems and alternatives. I am a vegan, so I used 2 tsp flax seed, ground, with 3 Tbs water for the eggs. I used soy milk for the milk. Also, in my recipe I used 3 tsp yeast, 2 1/2 cups wheat flour, 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, and oil instead of shortening. The dough was not sticky! And the buns came out perfect! They are soft in the inside, and nicely tanned on the outside with a little crunch. I will use this for all my bread recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Turned out AWESOME! I used 3 tsp yeast (4 1/2 is too much yeast) and let it proof with the sugar and water. Followed step 2 exactly except I used 1 1/2 c milk (not 2c) in a kitchen aid mixer with bread hook attachment. Slowly added in the remaining 3c flour, and after that I spread flour on countertop to knead the dough. I kept adding a little flour here and there while kneading to keep it from sticking to the counter, then I put the dough ball in a plastic tupperware bowl with seran wrap on top to rise (no need for oil if you use plastic bowl). The dough was sticky but not unmanageable. After it rose I again beat the hell out of the dough on a floured countertop. After it was finished I didn't have time to bake it that day, so I put the spiral dough balls on parchment paper on a baking sheet in the fridge overnight. I did the baking soda hot water dipping right before baking, my rolls were pretty big so they took prob 25-30 min to bake (I kept checking on them). Absolutely awesome recipe, way better than store bought buns!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
these were not at all what I expected. My husband said he relaly liked them - my kids liked them, too. But as soon as I asked if they tasted like pretzels, everyone agreed they never would have made the connection (even though there was pretzel salt on top). They tasted NOTHING like pretzels. The were still good rolls, but I can't get past what I was expecting them to taste like... I'm very disappointed. I followed recipe - with exception of the milk, I followed a reviewer's suggestion to cut it down to 1 3/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This just didn't turn out well at all!!!! I read the others' comments and thought I'd give it a try. The batter was definitely "pourable"...so much so that I couldn't shape into balls at all. I ended up scooping up a spoonful of "dough", dipping it in the baking soda mixture and dumping into a cupcake pan. They didn't even taste like a yeast bread - my husband thought they tasted like biscuits. Way too much effort for such a sub-par result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These make very nice rolls with a fine crumb and good flavor. I mix and knead the dough in an electric mixer. Like any yeast bread the "6 cups" of flour is an estimate, but do not add too much flour or the rolls will be dry. I recommend them especially as a roll for a cheese steak sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The measurements seemed off in this one. I combined this and the Mall Pretzels recipe from this site to create my own and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States