Pretzel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I first heard of Pretzel bread through Michael Symon on "The Chew." He said this was fantastic as buns for burgers. He was right. The rolls by themselves just wasn't our favorite, but buns for burgers now that's a different story. This recipe gives info for bread, rolls and chocolate rolls, but if you want to make buns...let the rolls rise again for 20 minutes and then put in the boiling solution. I only boiled my rolls or buns for 30 seconds on each side. In all fairness, we didn't try it as loaves of bread. Five stars as buns (for us.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was so excited to make this because we have pretzel bread sandwiches in our cafe at work and I love them. I made these as rolls and they were gone in seconds. Will put this recipe with my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made sandwich rolls, and the recipe yielded four good-sized ones. The rolls were a little dense/chewy but, perhaps, this had something to do with the fact that I used regular "active dry yeast" instead of the "rapid rise" (didn't read the recipe thoroughly because I actually had some rapid rise in the cabinet). Flavor was great, however, and I definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was my first time making pretzel bread and it worked! I made these into rolls for sandwiches. Tip: Be sure to measure the water and baking soda correctly for the boiling process. If you use too little water to baking soda ratio then these will turn out salty. Too little baking soda to water then they won't have the pretzel taste. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have tried this recipe 3 times and it never turns out. The dough never rises and is extremely dense. I follow the recipe down it the last word.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made this for hubby - he's not a bread fan but does love his pretzel bread!! For those who have issues with the rising: 1) Make sure the yeast is quick rise 2) Make SURE the warm solution is NOT too hot. It will kill the yeast. 3) If you're still having trouble (I have issues with quick rising) try this. Follow the directions up to and including turning the dough into the greased bowl. Cover with a damp cloth. Refrigerate overnight. Then follow the other directions. I do this for ALL my breads, as I can't get a consistent rise the other way - this method was in an old recipe for french bread, and gives me a consistent rise every time. I never rise my dough at room temp, but always use the overnight method or I end up making bricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I just made these as 8 rolls, and they are delicious! They are soft on the inside and just a bit crusty on the outside. I forgot the egg wash, but I did sprinkle just a small pinch of kosher salt on them after I cut the cross on the top. They were exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBACook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Really good and really easy. First time using rapid rise yeast and I liked it a lot. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
WOW! This is the BEST pretzel bread I have tried. I am a pretzel freak and very picky about soft pretzels especially coming from the NY area. These were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe as directed except, since I was making rolls, I followed the advice of the person that said to let rise 20 min after punching down for rolls. The only thing I would change or add.. is to add Kosher Salt before baking!!! I plan on making pretzel sticks, nuggets everything with this recipe. This was great. Oh. .I also kept on 400 for 12 min, and then 350 for 10. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kfr33man
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used my bread machine and the ingredient amounts listed to make 8 rolls. These are fabulous and the recipe is a keeper!!! However, the rolls were a bit small for sandwiches, so I'll make 6 rolls next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States