Pretzel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I first heard of Pretzel bread through Michael Symon on "The Chew." He said this was fantastic as buns for burgers. He was right. The rolls by themselves just wasn't our favorite, but buns for burgers now that's a different story. This recipe gives info for bread, rolls and chocolate rolls, but if you want to make buns...let the rolls rise again for 20 minutes and then put in the boiling solution. I only boiled my rolls or buns for 30 seconds on each side. In all fairness, we didn't try it as loaves of bread. Five stars as buns (for us.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made sandwich rolls, and the recipe yielded four good-sized ones. The rolls were a little dense/chewy but, perhaps, this had something to do with the fact that I used regular "active dry yeast" instead of the "rapid rise" (didn't read the recipe thoroughly because I actually had some rapid rise in the cabinet). Flavor was great, however, and I definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was my first time making pretzel bread and it worked! I made these into rolls for sandwiches. Tip: Be sure to measure the water and baking soda correctly for the boiling process. If you use too little water to baking soda ratio then these will turn out salty. Too little baking soda to water then they won't have the pretzel taste. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Really good and really easy. First time using rapid rise yeast and I liked it a lot. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great bread, I didn't even use my mixer, I just stirred it by hand and it came out fine. tastes like a pretzel :~) Going to do them again this week-end for football food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was so excited to make this because we have pretzel bread sandwiches in our cafe at work and I love them. I made these as rolls and they were gone in seconds. Will put this recipe with my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Oh, how happy I was to try this recipe! I had some of Costco's pretzel rolls a while back and loved them, but Costco is 90 miles away. I tried this recipe and made them into small dinner rolls. They were better than the Costco ones. Next time, I will double the batch. This recipe made 8 dinner rolls. They kept very well. I will freeze some next time. Perfect with a ham and swiss sandwich with spicy mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I just made these as 8 rolls, and they are delicious! They are soft on the inside and just a bit crusty on the outside. I forgot the egg wash, but I did sprinkle just a small pinch of kosher salt on them after I cut the cross on the top. They were exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBACook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe turned out really great. I've made it twice, and on the second time around, I added about 1/2 tablespoon extra of brown sugar, and I made them into rolls rather than 2 loaves. If you're doing rolls, I'd suggest shortening the amount of time they're in the 400 degree oven... they were a little too brown when they came out. other than that, I'd say this is pretty foolproof.... I'm not much into baking bread and felt kind of clueless throughout the recipe but I was thrilled that they turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Easy to make, tastes just like a pretzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States