Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Thanks for this starter recipe. This was my first time making red beans so it was a test for me. I used my Wolfgang Puck pressure cooker. I did have to adjust the time and add about another 25-30 minutes to it. For the ingredients, I left out the celery and bell peppers, because I didn't have them. However, the taste over all was pretty accurate. I did add the sausage with the beans to cook, and they did come out a little soft. They mashed easily when I mashed the beans. I might try adding them later on next time. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious! When I opened the lid and saw lots of liquid, I was really concerned that I had done something really wrong here. This was my first attempt at red beans, and I guess I did not really know what to expect. Based on other's suggestions, I did not add my sausage until the end. I warmed it in a skillet and added it to the beans after they were cooked. I thought the flavoring was perfect, and my consistency was great as well. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! I've never had much luck getting the beans soft enough with 30 minutes so I let them cook in my Fagor pressure cooker for about 50 minutes. Once that's done, I let the pressure drop naturally. I usually have some excess water so I turn the burner on with the lid off. YUMS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. I've been cooking red beans in my pressure cooker for a couple years now. The only differences I've never used cumin. I do add my sausage with my red beans but I slice my sausage and then sauté with my onions and bell peppers before adding the rest of the ingredients. I think this helps to keep texture of the sausage. After cooking for 30 minutes I take the lid off and adjust my settings to Browning which will bring the liquid to a boil. As it is boiling I mash some beans let it boil for about 10 minutes and it will get nice and creamy. Serve over white rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! And I'm a southern girl. The pressure cooker brings out all the flavor. Because this was also for my kids, I would probably use half as much Cajun seasoning. The pressure cooker brings out the cayenne in it, making this a tad bit spicy but still delicious. And in just 30 min. This is a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Will not be cooked in 30 minutes -- even with overnight soaking. I only ding it for being so far off on the cooking time, and not recommending soaking the beans. Seasoning mix was very good -- fairly close to what I currently use when cooking regular stovetop beans -- I don't currently use cumin in mine, but I liked the taste with the added cumin. I wondered if the beans would have the creamy textured liquid that I wanted -- they didn't. In the end, I just mashed some beans in the pot and cooked a while longer to thicken. Next time I'll do as another reviewer recommended and cook 30 minutes -- stop cooking, and use my prior method to sauté the veggies and mash some beans. Then pressure cook another 20 minutes. I will still soak overnight to clean the beans and completely hydrate the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little thyme and oregano and 6 cups of water. Also I ended up adding the whole onion and bell pepper so I wouldn't have half lying around. I did find it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for 30 minutes. While it was cooking I browned the sausage. Let it release naturally and then added the sausage and cooked for 10 more minutes. Next time I might go 15 minutes to make them fall apart a little more for a creamier texture. I wasn't in any real hurry, but if you are you could quick release and add more time to your cooking. It turned out great. I think the whole thing took an hour. I also have a regular Wal-Mart stove top pressure cooker and that's the time I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
thank you for a great starter recipe...First let me say i have never made Red Beans from scratch that I liked... but i LOVED these. I did do a little tweaking to my taste...I put 2 cloves garlic, added 1/2# ham chunks which i cooked with the beans (held the sausage until after cooking under pressure)1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce 1 tsp thyme 1 chicken bouillon cube and 1 tsp Tabasco Chipotle sauce extra bay leaf.... i did soak my beans about 4 hrs and cooked in pressure cooker for 50 minutes and then another 10 after adding 1/2 # of sausage.... they were so delicious... best i ever had... and i live in South Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Flavor was great, no changes to spices. Used quick soak method to prepare the beans. This was the first time I made red beans and didn't realize I was supposed to mash some of the beans to thicken the base, so I had 3 of 5 cups of liquid remaining after the pressure was released. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and the flavor was not affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Enjoyed this recipe very much. SOAK THE BEANS! I put them to soak at 7 AM, and I started cooking at 5 PM, and they turned out perfect in 30 minutes. I use a flame tamer whenever I cook rice in the PC, I recommend it if you've had problems burning rice in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States