Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Thanks for this starter recipe. This was my first time making red beans so it was a test for me. I used my Wolfgang Puck pressure cooker. I did have to adjust the time and add about another 25-30 minutes to it. For the ingredients, I left out the celery and bell peppers, because I didn't have them. However, the taste over all was pretty accurate. I did add the sausage with the beans to cook, and they did come out a little soft. They mashed easily when I mashed the beans. I might try adding them later on next time. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious! When I opened the lid and saw lots of liquid, I was really concerned that I had done something really wrong here. This was my first attempt at red beans, and I guess I did not really know what to expect. Based on other's suggestions, I did not add my sausage until the end. I warmed it in a skillet and added it to the beans after they were cooked. I thought the flavoring was perfect, and my consistency was great as well. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! I've never had much luck getting the beans soft enough with 30 minutes so I let them cook in my Fagor pressure cooker for about 50 minutes. Once that's done, I let the pressure drop naturally. I usually have some excess water so I turn the burner on with the lid off. YUMS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. I've been cooking red beans in my pressure cooker for a couple years now. The only differences I've never used cumin. I do add my sausage with my red beans but I slice my sausage and then sauté with my onions and bell peppers before adding the rest of the ingredients. I think this helps to keep texture of the sausage. After cooking for 30 minutes I take the lid off and adjust my settings to Browning which will bring the liquid to a boil. As it is boiling I mash some beans let it boil for about 10 minutes and it will get nice and creamy. Serve over white rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! And I'm a southern girl. The pressure cooker brings out all the flavor. Because this was also for my kids, I would probably use half as much Cajun seasoning. The pressure cooker brings out the cayenne in it, making this a tad bit spicy but still delicious. And in just 30 min. This is a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Will not be cooked in 30 minutes -- even with overnight soaking. I only ding it for being so far off on the cooking time, and not recommending soaking the beans. Seasoning mix was very good -- fairly close to what I currently use when cooking regular stovetop beans -- I don't currently use cumin in mine, but I liked the taste with the added cumin. I wondered if the beans would have the creamy textured liquid that I wanted -- they didn't. In the end, I just mashed some beans in the pot and cooked a while longer to thicken. Next time I'll do as another reviewer recommended and cook 30 minutes -- stop cooking, and use my prior method to sauté the veggies and mash some beans. Then pressure cook another 20 minutes. I will still soak overnight to clean the beans and completely hydrate the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little thyme and oregano and 6 cups of water. Also I ended up adding the whole onion and bell pepper so I wouldn't have half lying around. I did find it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for 30 minutes. While it was cooking I browned the sausage. Let it release naturally and then added the sausage and cooked for 10 more minutes. Next time I might go 15 minutes to make them fall apart a little more for a creamier texture. I wasn't in any real hurry, but if you are you could quick release and add more time to your cooking. It turned out great. I think the whole thing took an hour. I also have a regular Wal-Mart stove top pressure cooker and that's the time I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
thank you for a great starter recipe...First let me say i have never made Red Beans from scratch that I liked... but i LOVED these. I did do a little tweaking to my taste...I put 2 cloves garlic, added 1/2# ham chunks which i cooked with the beans (held the sausage until after cooking under pressure)1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce 1 tsp thyme 1 chicken bouillon cube and 1 tsp Tabasco Chipotle sauce extra bay leaf.... i did soak my beans about 4 hrs and cooked in pressure cooker for 50 minutes and then another 10 after adding 1/2 # of sausage.... they were so delicious... best i ever had... and i live in South Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Flavor was great, no changes to spices. Used quick soak method to prepare the beans. This was the first time I made red beans and didn't realize I was supposed to mash some of the beans to thicken the base, so I had 3 of 5 cups of liquid remaining after the pressure was released. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and the flavor was not affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Enjoyed this recipe very much. SOAK THE BEANS! I put them to soak at 7 AM, and I started cooking at 5 PM, and they turned out perfect in 30 minutes. I use a flame tamer whenever I cook rice in the PC, I recommend it if you've had problems burning rice in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States