Pressure Cooker Italian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Wonderful. Substituted Italian wedding soup meatballs, next time smoked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Dont mess with the pressure cooker. I think in this instance it is way too much work. Plus having a soup simmering in the kitchen in the winter--sending its fragrance thru the house is a huge plus. The package of sausage (sweet italian) I bought had 5 in it...the package of chicken had 3...so I kinda scaled up from there. I sued the same ammt of barley and lentils. Also the same ammt of stock. I also used a cube of Mexican chicken/tomatoe boullion and that gave the stock a richer flavor. I simmered everything together for about 3.5 hours and everyone at the house said it smelled "heavenly" (my 14 year old) Next time I will leave out the barley--I dont think it contributes anything to the soup. I will also leave out the spinach--it was kinda slimey. Some carrots in the next batch and a bean mixture instead of the 'banzos. The stock was delicious and it is a definate base for experimentation. With potatoes, I think it will be very similar to the zuppa Toscana soup at the big olive chain restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
My husband loved this soup. It makes a very large portion & I only used 1/2 of the spinach (it seemed like a lot). After, I thought I should of added all 16oz since it cooks down so much...duh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Just made this! A few changes: no pressure cooker, cooked first part (all prior to spinach/chickpea/salsa addition) for 1 hour, then remainder for 20 minutes. Instead of mild salsa, added 7 oz. chipotle salsa; quite spicy, a dollop of plain Greek yogurt is a nice counter to it. Omitted fresh parsley - didn't have any. Used split red lentils instead of green, no problems there. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Photo by Debbie G
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love this - used my trusty and favorite cooking method - the pressure cooker, absolutely wonderful. Very flavorful, and very quick. I was unsure about the barley and lentils - I added them dry from a package and it turned out beautiful, not mushy. The only change I made was frozen spinach - worked great - also I did not add the green salsa till I served it and it was a really nice garnish. Looks beautiful, and tastes really great! Also, I made my own chicken stock in the pressure cooker about 15 minutes prior to making soup - this makes such a nice soup base, better than any store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
EXCELLENT AND FAST! Very easy to substitute - I had no sausage so I used turkey bacon, and added split peas as well as lentils. Delicious! The kids love it and so does my husband. Definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFinTraining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
*I made this for three on the stove top* I sautéed a small onion, 2 clv garlic, 1/4c chopped bell pepper and some chopped hamsteak (instead of sausage) in olive oil. I transferred this mix to saucepan with 4c preheated chicken broth, uncooked chicken breast half, 1/4c chopped celery, 1/4c chopped carrots, 1/2 can corn, just over 1/4c chopped parsley (go fresh it's worth it!). I left it on the stove simmering covered for 1 1/2 hrs till the boys were hungry (except to remove chicken breast, shred meat and return to pot). I added 1/2 can chickpeas, a pureed 7.5oz can of spinach, a few handfuls of dry rotini (didn't have lentils or barley), and 1/2c medium salsa and a few dashes of hot sauce. This made just enough for three adults (two of which got seconds) and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Used a Dutch oven instead of a pressure cooker and it came out great. Freezes beautifully - I'm eating leftovers right now on a cold night and it's just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greasergrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wow - this was so good! I left out the barley, lentils and parsley (only because I didn't have it), and I used 5 cups of chicken broth. But it was just ridiculously good!! My husband even commented on how good it was and believe me, that is a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This soup is very rich and healthy! I used 5 Italian turkey sausage links and added black pepper and red pepper powder. It gave it a hint if spicyness. I also added one can of diced tomatoes with no salt added and with garlic, oregano and basil. Since the recipe as is is very high in sodium per serving, I boiled the lentils and the garbanzo beans myself in water with no salt. I added one cube of chicken bouillon and it turned out perfect and even healthier. The barley helps to reduce cholesterol and by boiling the beans myself, it was low in sodium too. Perfect! Also, one tip: don't add the parsley until you are ready to turn off the heat. Parsley is a great antioxidant; however, if you boil it, it loses all properties. The same for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States