Pressure Cooker Italian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This soup is really easy, super healthy and even my picky husband likes it. I add an extra onion, extra cup of broth, package of chicken breasts instead of one bone-in, and substitute blackbeans for garbanzo beans. Also doesn't hurt to give it some kick with medium/hot salsa or to use spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great flavor. Makes a very large batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Delicious! Just make sure to soak your lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
My husband loved this. I used chili powder instead of salsa but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was the perfect amount of hearty, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very nice suggestion for using up a pound of hot Italian turkey sausage. Tasty, even with a few substitutions because I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand (red lentils for green, cannelini for chick peas, Italian petite diced tomatoes for salsa). Since I like to make a LOT of soup if I'm going to go to the trouble, I added a lot more chicken and water. Figuring it might need a little spice, I added some extra Italian seasoning (Penzeys Tuscan Sunset), and I found a jar of chili paste in the cupboard and used only about 1/2 tsp for the 12 cups of water I used with Better Than Turkey bouillon (out of chicken). Still very tasty. Wish I'd had a little more spinach than I'd had on hand, but it looks beautiful just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaime
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This soup was SOOO good! Especially if you are a soup lover as I am. I made it exactly as stated except I used a standard soup pot on the stove. I simmered it for a total of 1.5 hours, adding the chickpeas, spinach, salsa and parsley last (about 10 minutes before eating). I also noticed that the chicken stock amount is way under what is actually needed. I used a 48oz can and still had to add 2 cups of water and 3 bouillon cubes. This may vary depending on the amount of lentils and barley you add, though. I think I added a touch more than the recipe called for. My boyfriend loved it too, so it spans genders :) We had it with some toasted multigrain bread on a snowy night. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This soup is very rich and healthy! I used 5 Italian turkey sausage links and added black pepper and red pepper powder. It gave it a hint if spicyness. I also added one can of diced tomatoes with no salt added and with garlic, oregano and basil. Since the recipe as is is very high in sodium per serving, I boiled the lentils and the garbanzo beans myself in water with no salt. I added one cube of chicken bouillon and it turned out perfect and even healthier. The barley helps to reduce cholesterol and by boiling the beans myself, it was low in sodium too. Perfect! Also, one tip: don't add the parsley until you are ready to turn off the heat. Parsley is a great antioxidant; however, if you boil it, it loses all properties. The same for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wow - this was so good! I left out the barley, lentils and parsley (only because I didn't have it), and I used 5 cups of chicken broth. But it was just ridiculously good!! My husband even commented on how good it was and believe me, that is a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Used a Dutch oven instead of a pressure cooker and it came out great. Freezes beautifully - I'm eating leftovers right now on a cold night and it's just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greasergrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
*I made this for three on the stove top* I sautéed a small onion, 2 clv garlic, 1/4c chopped bell pepper and some chopped hamsteak (instead of sausage) in olive oil. I transferred this mix to saucepan with 4c preheated chicken broth, uncooked chicken breast half, 1/4c chopped celery, 1/4c chopped carrots, 1/2 can corn, just over 1/4c chopped parsley (go fresh it's worth it!). I left it on the stove simmering covered for 1 1/2 hrs till the boys were hungry (except to remove chicken breast, shred meat and return to pot). I added 1/2 can chickpeas, a pureed 7.5oz can of spinach, a few handfuls of dry rotini (didn't have lentils or barley), and 1/2c medium salsa and a few dashes of hot sauce. This made just enough for three adults (two of which got seconds) and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States