Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a home run even before you fry it up for carnitas or use it as a base for chile verde or add bbq sauce for pulled pork sandwiches. I have experimented with different cook times for different textures and have always been extremely pleased with the results. Be sure to add a bit of salt and pepper before cooking for maximum flavor. Thank you so much yellowpairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe was incredible!!! This was my first try with a pressure cooker and the meat came out falling apart. The flavor was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Fabulous! So much flavor! I rarely use my pressure cooker, so it was awesome finding such a gem of a recipe to help me be less intimidated by it! I cut my pork into larger pieces for easy shredding, but skipped the review suggestion of putting it back in the oven for browning. I only used one kind of pepper since big hatch chilies were on sale in my area. I didn't have any coriander, so I had to omit that. It was really great. There was so much leftover liquid. . . I plan to use it as a base for some chili, but it would also make such a great stew. I think next time I will purposefully add more broth/water so I will have even more leftover liquid for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this tonight and my wife, and I, thoroughly enjoyed! Though there was no salt called for, I added 3/4 tsp, and still needed a bit more on the plate. Served with fresh chopped onion, avocado, and sour cream dollops, over rice, and was a very satisfied diner! Bravo to, "yellowpairs", thank you! PS, cooked in a Fagor pressure cooker, under high pressure, for 55 minutes. Used country style, bone in, pork ribs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great recipe. Good flavor from the different peppers. Now to add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I wish I had a good review to write. I must have done something wrong. I followed the recipe but mine came out very bland. Almost no flavor at all. It was very tender and shredded nicely , but was pretty boring. Maybe I'll try again. This was the first thing I made in my new pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinandemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Freakin' delicious. My modification eliminated the jalapenos, but only because I had a few heat-sensitive guests tonight. In lieu of that, I added some chipotle powder and it was just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I also did the baking dish in a hot oven until crispy on the outside trick. Also sprinkled brandy over the meat before putting it in the oven to crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were very good, I pressure cooked them for 30 mins and they turned out great, I served them with corn tortillas and lettuce, sour cream and tomatoes, because it was all I had...I didn't have all the peppers it called for so I just used a serrano pepper that I had, bunch of onions, garlic and spices, it was tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria Ceballos Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I just got a pressure cooker and was looking for recipes to try. My husband loves carnitas and I have made them before by deep frying the meat in oil. ( not healthy or cost effective) This meat held the flavor though the meat and was so tender, I had to gently spoon it out of the cooker. Shredding it was awesome! I used a fork and pushed it down on top of each piece of meat and it just fell apart! Thank you for your recipe! I will be using it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States