Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
YUM!!! I love authentic Mexican, and these were delicious! I can't really buy decent MExican food anywhere in my area, so this is great to have this easy, make at home recipe. I went for the full spice, and it was just the way I like it. I would recommend cutting back on the peppers and their seeds if you don't like spicy. Otherwise, simple and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great if you brown the portion in the oven that you are going to use right away. I believe the leftovers will be great when we brown them for Tuesday night. Pressure cooker Spanish rice and peruano beans. The homemade salsas one green one red made the meal. We used hatch chilies from our freezer in the meat and both salsas. I hope I can buy two cases of roasted hatch chilies later this year. The salsas were great because the tomatoes and tomatillos were from last years garden and stored in the freezer. Both pressure cookers had a workout today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was the first recipe I ever tried in my pressure cooker and I was very happy with the way it turned out, even though it was a bit bland. I was a little alarmed at the 1 hour time in the cooker so I turned down the heat a bit. The pork cubes came out well cooked and very tender. I wasn't sure about what to serve it with so I made rice, which complemented it nicely. In the future I will make a point of trimming a bit more of the fat off the pork, but that was a minor issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was the most delicious dinner ever! I made a chili fail and touched my eye shortly after cutting up the peppers and lost my sight for about 5 minutes but it was totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Not true Carnitas. This is more like a soup and when I removed 2+ cups of liquid it was more like a stew. It had nice spice but other than that it is horribly bland. I had to add tons of salt to the finished product. I imagine salting it up and frying it up afterwords would make it a truer Carnitas dish. I followed the recipe to the "T" but it needed lots of work after it was done to make it enjoyable. It was absolutely tender but true Carnitas are much larger "chunks" and you would pull it apart on your plate. I have NEVER had true Carnitas that were made with the chiles....those would be added later as a condiment. 2 stars because it WAS salvageable. All the 5 stars here probably have not ever had TRUE Carnitas. I won't be trying this recipe again. The picture IS NOT a true representation of the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
My family loved this. Made this a couple of weeks ago and going to make it again today. I used my electric pressure cooker , cooked it for 1 hr. a little to watery so today I'll only add half cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeeCee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
made it with pork shoulder cubes the first time, and it was AMAZING. I never have coriander, so I used the cumin, ancho chili powder, a LOT of garlic (probably 6 or 7 cloves), and a Mexican-mix spice I got from penzeys that's called "Arizona dreaming" about a tablespoon of each. Arizona dreaming is a blend of ancho, onion, paprika, garlic, lemon peel, chipotle pepper, cayenne, and cocoa. I did shred the pork after cooking and bake at 400 for 15 min. then put back in the cooker and stirred to blend. the second time I made with boneless skinless chicken breast cubes and used chicken broth instead of beef. cooked about 40 min. high pressure. Also delicious!! good on tortillas, over rice, or over salad greens with some crushed tortilla chips on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Just finished making these and they are absolutely wonderful. I had never made carnitas before and just got a new fagor pressure cooker for Christmas this year...soooo this was the perfect first time recipe. DH loves Mexican food! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pundragon
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is except I removed the seeds (that kept the complex flavor profile but reduced the heat a bit). It was delicious. It turned out tender and tasty and not greasy or mushy like a crock pot. I have made it in the oven before with mixed results. This is just so darned easy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fast and easy and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States