Pressure Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Followed the recipe as is. It was okay, but next time, I'll add more veggies to the mix and some black peppercorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
To add to this recipe, feel free to add as many vegitables as you'd like, peas are a nice addition, some people add turnips...to your own taste, this recipe as it is, is a good base beef stew recipe to be adjusted to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Metcalfe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This stew was very good. I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of mixed veggies. I poured the tomatoes on top of the stew since tomatoes tend to scorch if mixed in. I also cooked the potatoes with the stew instead of in another pot. I cooked the stew at high pressure for 10 minutes and then added the potatoes and let them cook the remaining 10 minutes in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Very easy and very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I used this recipe as the basis but I changed/added several things. I dredged the meat in seasoned flour before browning and I used beef broth insead of bouillon. I also added 3 whole cloves of garlic, fresh ground pepper and salt to taste, and 2 teaspoons of Worcheshire. I cooked all this for 10 minutes, cooled it down and added the potatoes and some green peas. I then cooked it for another 10 minutes. I think I cooked it too high toward the end because it began to burn slightly, but it did not affect the taste. It was delicious and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I was on a time constraint and this was so quick and easy. I fed hungry hunters who loved this. I did substitute beef broth and cooked the potatoes and green beans after cooking the beef and onions for 10 mins. Everything was so tender! I'd definitely serve this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent stew recipe.. I have tried a couple and this one is the best yet. I added a few chopped celery stalks, a large clove of garlic and a dash of red wine vinegar. A taste sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I use this recipe at my cafe, it is quick and easy. I top it off with dumplings. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Cooking with a pressure cooker is a lost art. I never see anyone using one anymore - it's a shame. People don't know what they are missing out on! The ultimate fast food when rich, hearty beef stew takes only 30 minutes from beginning to end! I use a similar basic recipe such as this, but add a TBS of tomato paste to the beef broth base. I don't use bouillian because of the salt factor. I don't bother to parboil potatoes and add the carrots and taters at the last 5 minutes of cooking. Comes out perfect every time. If you par boil the potatoes it removes the "stick to your ribs" factor that's so devine about stew! Try the School Lunchroom Rolls recipe on this website with this stew. VERY nice together and oh, such sweet memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This recipe is so easy, tasty and fast. It's got simmered all day flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States