Pressure Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHOCK
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I like it. It's very similar to my Dad's recipe. I coated the beef with seasoned flour before browning it. I also used two cups of beef broth instead of the water and bullion cubes and cooked the potatoes with the meat, carrots and onion. I also put three bay leaves on top of everything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I had frozen beef stew meat and within an hour, turned it into a WONDERFUL beef stew. I defrosted the meat in the microwave before browning it. I used frozen carrots for simplicity. I cooked on high for 10 minutes, cooled to open and added potatoes and frozen peas...then cooked on high for 10 more minutes. I didn't even need to add the cornstarch. I had cut my potatoes small enough that when I stirred the stew, some of the broken off potato pieces thickened it enough to satisfy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is a great basic beef stew recipe....I made the following changes: canned beef broth for the bullion/water, 3 cloves of garlic(pressed), 2 sprigs of thyme, 1 TBS of dried parsley, and 5 meat soup bones. It is my new favorite beef stew recipe. Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I swear by pressure cookers!! I cook about 70% of my meals in them and proudly own about 7 (some vintage some new). They are the best cooking utensil ever! Hands down. Lost art indeed and I'm trying hard to bring it back! Visit my site at http://www.flanboyanteats.com for Cuban and latin fusion recipes cooked in the pressure cooker! Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I forgot to put stew in the crock pot, so used pressure cooker to make dinner in time. May never go back again! Used ratio of 1# beef/1# carrots/3 large potatoes. Cooked 10 min, added potatoes, cooked another 10 min. Also added a couple of shakes of Montreal Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. It's right up there with the beef stew I make in a stock pot that cooks for 4 hours. So time-wise, this recipe wins. The only thing that I like about the other stew better is the red wine. The meat in this recipe is just as tender. Also, since this recipe has no wine, I was able to grind it up in the bullet for my 10 month old, who ate it up! To give it a little more taste, I put some hot sauce on my serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Recipe was very good. I added potatoes at the same time as other ingredients and omitted the cornstarch. To thicken I added a mixture of milk and flour and simmered until desired consistency. I used Knorr bouillion cubes and really liked to added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This recipe is so easy, tasty and fast. It's got simmered all day flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Cooking with a pressure cooker is a lost art. I never see anyone using one anymore - it's a shame. People don't know what they are missing out on! The ultimate fast food when rich, hearty beef stew takes only 30 minutes from beginning to end! I use a similar basic recipe such as this, but add a TBS of tomato paste to the beef broth base. I don't use bouillian because of the salt factor. I don't bother to parboil potatoes and add the carrots and taters at the last 5 minutes of cooking. Comes out perfect every time. If you par boil the potatoes it removes the "stick to your ribs" factor that's so devine about stew! Try the School Lunchroom Rolls recipe on this website with this stew. VERY nice together and oh, such sweet memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I use this recipe at my cafe, it is quick and easy. I top it off with dumplings. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States