Pressure Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a very good base. The Pressure Cooker is amazing. I like to use just one pot when I can so everything was cooked in the pot. S/P on the meat then flour, I used beef broth instead of the bullion and water. I like my stew with red wine so I added about a cup of wine to the 2.5 lbs of beef. Once I heard it start I cooked under pressure for 10 minutes then released my pressure and added raw potato, raw celery and some frozen peas. Then back to pressure for another 10 minutes. Textures were perfect. I love a pressure cooker. Next time I will do no peas and maybe add corn and/or green beans. All in all, this is a great go to recipe that takes 45 minutes on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Was very good! First pressure cooker experience and will do again. Added 1/2 red wine to broth before closing lid to cook meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very simple recipe for a quick beef stew that leaves open a lot of room for customization. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but for the following changes: - Replaced water with a can of beef stock - substituted equivalent amount of baby carrots to replace "grown up" carrots. - Added about 4 stalks of celerey (2" pieces) with the carrots - Added some fresh ground pepper (a couple turns of the grinder, maybe 1/4 tsp), and a couple shakes of crushed bay leaves (about two whole leaves) - Didn't cook the potatoes seperately (why dirty another dish??) Cooked with lid on for 10 minutes. Cooled the pot and released the pressure, then added 4 peeled potatoes, halved, along with a 10 oz package of frozen peas, stirred and coated everything. - Replaced lid, cooked for another 10 minutes. Cooled pot and released pressure. - Served over egg noodles. So in essense, added more vegetables, a tiny bit of spice, and cooked the potatoes right in the pot. Simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used venison instead of beef and I added some gralic powder and italian seasoning. I also put some tips of the celery stalk. I cooked the potatoes right in with the pressure cooker, 10lbs of pressure for 12 minutes and the meat was nice and tender and the veggies not mush yet! Delicious...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Easy and quick. Next time increase the broth and cut back on the potatoes. The meat was very tender and easy to eat, which is the most important thing. Thank you for posting this. It is a good, healthy throw together kind of meal, which is definitely welcome for a family of 3. It will go on my "everyday" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curlyfry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used just one beef buillion cube, it was plenty of flavor for 2lbs beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
MAKE A DOUBLE RECIPE !!! SAVES GREAT!! add 1/2 cup more liquid..4tsp cornstarch (TOTAL) 2 1/2lbs beef.... can of corn and green beans (Drained) save broth for veggie broth (optional)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
LOVED THIS RECIPE! After reading some reviews, I really liked what "LilysNanny" had to say about what she added. I decided that since my mouth watered after reading her review, I would do what she did. We loved it! My 3 yr old said he didn't like it, but he made me happy by eating almost a half bowl (minus the carrots). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was my first time making Beef Stew and was a little nervous. But it was sooo easy to make and tasted delicious. My family is now looking forward to other recipes from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
YUM! QUICK AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States