Pressure Cooker Beef Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I'm an Arizona lady, been making green chile all my life. This is a very good recipe, very close to what my abuelita (grandma) taught me. Just a reminder: green chilies and jalapenos are two very different products. Be careful; it is possible to burn yourself with hot peppers. I added two 7 oz. cans of Ortega brand diced green chilies to my batch. Nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Easy fast, Could of been spicier, that's okay next time. Used fresh Jalepenos, instead of can. Was gonna take photo but my boys ate it so fast. I couldn't grab the camera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I don't need to prepare this recipe to know that, after cooking AZ Green Chile - Chile con Carne (de Res) - for decades, that this'll be excellent! I can tell just by seeing the essential ingredients! Note for others: The corn chips need to be ground to replace otherwise available corn "masa" (or wheat flour roux in AZ) The tomatoes are okay, even trace amounts in Green Chile, but I'd experiment reducing that. I concur with one cook who added more cumin, and I'd make sure I used plenty of black pepper. Of course, even though it would drastically change the outcome, this AZ guy'd add lots of chunked green chiles, i.e., roasted & peeled green New Mexicos or Poblanos! Maybe we could experiment w/ canned red or green enchilada sauce, too. However, even I would make this recipe as written by John first to get a good baseline - and to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I haven't tried this recipe but for Tomboltic you made the chili hotter with your change. Ancho chilies are dried poblanos a relatively mild chilie. Chipoltlies are much hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have been pressure cooking chili for many years. I use the 21 quart canner, mix up a full canner load and bring it up to 15# before turning off the heat. When the pressure drops, I immediately fill my wide mouth jars and can up about 14-18 quarts or so, saving the remainder for the for the current meal of two. Because the pressure cooked chili was jarred immediately, it can then be canned by just bringing the canner up to 10# for about 10 minutes. The greatest caution is the impulse to over fill the jars. That alone has been the cause of losses of canned chili. This process also works with pork, venison, elk and mutton varying the spices as you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Yes, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
instead of the ancho chili powder, we used about 2 teaspoons of chipotle chili powder. I like it hot, but this was really pushing it. I also used a bit more than a pound of ground venison. I froze it, and then cut it into chunks and browned those. It came out in nice chunks. To make up for the less meat, I used some red kidney beans. Wife liked it, but it had some good heat! I'll cut back on the chili powder even more next time. Served with shredded cheddar and sour cream. It'll be nice reheated for lunch on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Boltik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Tried this recipie last night - First time using my Lagostina Pressure Cooker - turned out great, the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a pretty easy and tasty chili to make. However, it was way too spicy. I'm going to scale back on the recommended amount of spice next time I prepare this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great recipe, turned out a lot better than I expected for my first pressure cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States