Presidential Debate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This chili is OK as a starting point. I had to add a whole bunch more spices for our taste. If you like mild chili then you will really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I won the chili cook off at my work with this recipe. I went up against 10 other dishes. The only change I made to it was to add hickory smoked sugar beans to it..... and added 16 oz can of red beans on a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Winner Winner Chili Dinner!! We loved this as a family. Also made it for a large group of High School Seniors and they gave it rave reviews as well. Mildly spicy for large groups or if your family prefers a milder chili. Very good flavor with the ranch beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I don't usually try chili recipes but the whimsical name plus Ranch Style Beans (which I love) got me. I made some minor changes: I used Cento tomato puree ilo diced tomatoes, increased the chili powder to 1 Tbl, omitted the brown sugar and added 2 tsps Sambal Oelek for more heat. Followed the cooking instructions precisely. After adding the beans I wondered if I'd made a mistake trying this; the taste was a peculiar cross between chili and RS Beans. Oh well, I covered the pot and let it simmer one hour. Yippee Skippee, is this ever good! The flavor is so richly delicious that it's intense and the consistency is perfect. I ate it with saltines and cheese last night then made huevos rancheros with this as the topper for breakfast; another bowl with lettuce and cheese for lunch and I'm really looking forward to wrapping this in a tortilla for supper. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Just the right amount of spice for me, yet still good when my husband adds his super hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Presidential Debate Chili Haiku: "Love Ranch-style beans. (I think they made this chili.) Still would've been good." Followed the recipe exactly as written, elated that it called for Ranch-style beans that I keep stocked in my pantry as often as I can get my hands on them. I truly can't think of anything that I would've done to change this chili; it was just fantastic, although it was a touch mild for us, so after a squirt of Sriracha, we declared it a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
i have to say it was just down my alley. yum. i didn't think my hubby would like it b/c he likes spicy but he truly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aj~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a tasty, versatile basic chili. We invited friends to our home for lunch, and I fixed the chili as written. I set out bowls of add-ins so we could each tailor the chili to personal taste. This chili was a hit! All in all, this chili has the potential to "reach across the aisle"...folks who enjoy less spicy chili will be pleased and folks who like it spicier can kick it up as they choose. No debating the issue, this is one delicious chili! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tristonomore
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Best chili I've ever had/made. Being a incredibly novice TEENAGE male cook, I was a little cautious about how something like chili would come out first time from scratch. A tradition in our family: chili on Halloween, so I wanted to make it from scratch. No flavors clash, and unlike Nana I actually used MORE oregano (I used ground, the ingredients didn't clarify which one to use) and it tasted just as well. One little flaw, and while it's not really anything bad, it's worth taking a note: the ingredients stick to the bare minimum. If you like something such as onion (like me!) you will want to add A LOT. I ended up adding about 35 oz of tomato and a whole onion half. Plus, the recipe is not too spicy, so that's somewhat good. Another note is that I replaced those nasty ranch beans with kidney and black beans and this was the final result. Pros: -Incredibly easy to make, just mix it all together. -SO GOOD. My whole family, plus two friends said it was 5 *s. -Time to make is great; once it's boiling it's done. The hour wait isn't really needed. -Pretty mild for little kids or non-fans of spice. -Simply a good looking meal. I'll be uploading a picture of mine. -I didn't add cheese, but I bet it would be great with it. Cons: -After waiting the hour, most of the liquid was gone. I suggest either add some water or don't boil for TOO long. -Wasn't too spicy, which I would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Good basic chili, and that's pretty much how we like our chili. I did appreciate not having to use any packaged chili seasonings with all of the sugar and chemicals that comes with it. Not quite spicy enough for us though, so I added more chili powder and more cumin. Also, I could not find "ranch beans" (mentioned by a previous reviewer), so I used dark red kidney beans and one can was more than enough for this size recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States