President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
My husband grilled this cut of steak last summer and it was horrible! When I realized I got the same cut, I knew I needed help making it delicious. After seeing I could make this with what I had on hand, I knew I had to try it. It was so good! At least much better than those nasty grilled steaks. They were tender for sure. I used balsamic vinegar and chicken broth instead of the wine and consomme because it all I had and, again, it turned out well. Will def make again if I get this cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Adopts well to being cooked in a pressure cooker. Very tasty and meat came out very tender after cooking at pressure for 30min. We like a fair amount of seasoning so I used more onion, thyme and added ground garlic. I was out of vegetable oil so I cooked the onions in bacon fat. While the onions were cooking I seasoned the meat and dusted them with plenty of flour. When seasoning the meat I rubbed the dried thyme between my fingers to wake it up a bit. When the onions were done, I took them out, added a bit more bacon fat and browned the meat in batches. When the meat was done, I took that out and deglazed the pan with the consomme and wine. I added the leftover flour to that liquid and stirred. I then added the meat and onions back in. The only fresh parsley I had was frozen so I added it to the meat mixture then since it wouldn't have looked very pretty as a garnish. I would make this again, but would stick to using my pressure cooker for it. Pressure cookers are fantastic for braising cheap cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by h2opixie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Yum!!! This was delicious. I was bored with my normal steak prep and was searching for something different for my venison. The meat was fork tender; it absolutely melted in your mouth. This is going to have to stay in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kandelisa
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Yes! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
i made it last night and honestly i wasnt a huge fan. but the boys ate at least two helpings and enjoyed it. not a huge amount of flavor. and meat i braised for over two hours. it wasnt tough but like white meat no matter how much you cook it it has a dry texture. which i dont like but i had some happy campers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was delicious. I made a nice gravy by adding some of the wine, butter, flour and water to the pan that I browned the meat in. Then I added it to the simmering meet. I also added garlic powder to the meet as I browned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We really love the flavor of this recipe. I have stuck with the ingredients as written. Mushrooms would be a nice addition. I've made this three times. It does require some time to prepare but its worth the wait. Have been considering putting this in the crockpot. I like to serve this with mashed potatoes and a simple vegetable dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a wonderful recipe! Very easy to make. As everyone else stared do not use bullion use beef consumme. I will save this recipe and make this very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Jantz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I cooked the steak exactly according to the directions, and the result was meat that was not only not fork tender; I could barely cut it with a steak knife. What happened? The reason I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1 is that the gravy is fantastic. I'm going to freeze and save it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is absolutely awful. My boyfriend (who is not a reviewer, so I'll share his opinion for him) described it as "disgusting" and wouldn't eat a second hite. We both felt that the sauce was somehow to blame. The flavor was ... musty. It tasted like something old, something that would be served in Oliver Twist's nursing home. We followed the recipe exactly. I blame President Ford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States