President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by h2opixie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Yum!!! This was delicious. I was bored with my normal steak prep and was searching for something different for my venison. The meat was fork tender; it absolutely melted in your mouth. This is going to have to stay in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kandelisa
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Yes! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
i made it last night and honestly i wasnt a huge fan. but the boys ate at least two helpings and enjoyed it. not a huge amount of flavor. and meat i braised for over two hours. it wasnt tough but like white meat no matter how much you cook it it has a dry texture. which i dont like but i had some happy campers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was delicious. I made a nice gravy by adding some of the wine, butter, flour and water to the pan that I browned the meat in. Then I added it to the simmering meet. I also added garlic powder to the meet as I browned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We really love the flavor of this recipe. I have stuck with the ingredients as written. Mushrooms would be a nice addition. I've made this three times. It does require some time to prepare but its worth the wait. Have been considering putting this in the crockpot. I like to serve this with mashed potatoes and a simple vegetable dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a wonderful recipe! Very easy to make. As everyone else stared do not use bullion use beef consumme. I will save this recipe and make this very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Jantz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've never given a poor review before, but this recipe seems so popular, I'd like to know what I did wrong. I cooked the steak exactly according to the directions, and the result was meat that was not only not fork tender; I could barely cut it with a steak knife. What happened? The reason I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1 is that the gravy is fantastic. I'm going to freeze and save it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is absolutely awful. My boyfriend (who is not a reviewer, so I'll share his opinion for him) described it as "disgusting" and wouldn't eat a second hite. We both felt that the sauce was somehow to blame. The flavor was ... musty. It tasted like something old, something that would be served in Oliver Twist's nursing home. We followed the recipe exactly. I blame President Ford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Been making this for years. It's delicious and simple. Usually pair it with fake mashed potatoes made from cauliflower and some burnt broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
it is great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Pangman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States