Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Had to add about a cup more flour but this is the bomb! I haven't had pizza like this since I left my hometown pizza place owned by an Italian family. I used the sponge version that took a little over an hour. I did use 110degree water and did add just a pinch of sugar. I let it 'grow' in its sponge form for about 2 hours. This dough was a beautiful consistency when it came together; incredibly easy to work with. I let it rise in a warmed oven so it didn't take 2 hours to double in bulk, only 1 hour. The crust was crispy on the edges with a chewy consistency. It made 2 large pizzas. The taste was great; it had a slight sourdough tang I think because I let the sponge ferment longer. The edges don't get browned but didn't matter==superb crust consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this recipe according to directions and must admit that I liked it much better than any other pizza crust that I have tried. I did bake it on my baking stone @ 450F, and got excellent results: the interior crumb was tender, and, due to the absence of oil, had excellent gluten strands[better than I have ever found in pizza!] with also those awesome tiny air bubbles all over the outside of the crust. A must for any artisan baker!!! SUPER!!! Note: it did require more flour than it called for whenever I kneaded it... about half cup more, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hautegourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Crust was simple, it rised properly. I added some garlic powder prior to baking, it seemed to add some needed flavor. I also brushed olive oil and sprinkled sea salt to the edges of the crust. It really added a nice color and flavor to the pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis M

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I prefer this one to 'Jays Signature Crust' which seems to me the more popular one on this site. For everyone who loves more authentic thin crust pizza...this is definitely the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Any recipe that can withstand the torture I dealt this one and still turn out good deserves more than five stars. It was all going well until I covered the dough that I'd half shaped with waxed paper to rest. (Don't do that) The waxed paper stuck, taking half the dough with it, and all attempts to reshape it failed. Good thing it makes two pizzas, right? Wrong. I shaped the second one, then got cocky and tried to move it to the pizza stone without letting it rest. Yeah, don't do that either. Big holes once again. I managed to get one pizza shaped and on the pizza stone somehow, in spite of my obvious incompetence. Long story less long, this makes a great, chewy crust that is as close to pizzeria pizza crust as I've been able to create at home - definitely doesn't have that 'homemade' pizza taste to it. I hope to make it again once I've gotten over this experience. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is wonderful. I have made both the sponge method and the overnight method, and they both worked great. I usually only need one crust at a time, so I flatten the extra dough a little and freeze it. I thaw it in the fridge and then use it when needed. My husband now swoons over my homemade pizza. Made it tonight for friends and they requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Finally a crust that doesn't taste like bread! I did the overnight method, and also needed another cup of flour. Used my Kitchen-Aid with the dough hook and added a little bit of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
Very nice chewy-crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I very nearly tossed this out and started again with another recipe. I'm using the cold rise method, and no matter how the pizza turns out tomorrow, the dough I'll end up with has little in common with the recipe as written. I double checked the measurements, because it was so highly rated I thought I must be doing something wrong. I lost track of how much more flour I had to add to get it to a kneadable state, but it was at least a cup, probably more. As written, sticky, unworkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
A simple crust, I tried the sponge method this time. It kind of reminds me of a pan crust, not too thick or thin, not too greasy. Next time I might try the overnight method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States