Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I double the recipe and use the overnight cold method but store 2 of the 4 doughs in the freezer (misted with olive oil) for future use. After baking, the edges of the pizza were lightly brown and crispy while the rest of the pizza was perfectly done - not doughy and not hard. Very nice pizza dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This pizza dough is the best that I have tried thus far. I have made it twice now, once with the overnight method and once with the sponge rise method. It turned out much better for me using the overnight method. Until I get a bread machine, this will be my go-to recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This really is a wonderful rustic pizza base, my family were just so delighted with this. In fact my husband even said it was like a pizza from a good Italian restaurant (What a compliment). I used the sponge rise method, let my kitchenaid do all the mixing and kneading. I covered the dough and let rise in my small side oven with the light on for just over an hour (always works a treat, for any yeast based dough that I make). Made a large square pizza (well squarish anyway!!!) and did the four seasons toppings. A great throw together dinner this evening. Will certainly be using this dough again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Quick and easy. We added plenty of garlic powder. Didn't realize this was to make two pizzas until it was too late. Puffed up nicely. Very good. I let the bread machine do all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I tend not put write reviews..but wow this one is definitely wort writng about. It taste just like our favorite pizza joint. I found out that after I froze it and reuse it the next week, it actually tasted better with a nice crunchy crust and chewy inside. Defintely need to add more flour and oh, dont forget the oven has to be super hot and well preheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Any recipe that can withstand the torture I dealt this one and still turn out good deserves more than five stars. It was all going well until I covered the dough that I'd half shaped with waxed paper to rest. (Don't do that) The waxed paper stuck, taking half the dough with it, and all attempts to reshape it failed. Good thing it makes two pizzas, right? Wrong. I shaped the second one, then got cocky and tried to move it to the pizza stone without letting it rest. Yeah, don't do that either. Big holes once again. I managed to get one pizza shaped and on the pizza stone somehow, in spite of my obvious incompetence. Long story less long, this makes a great, chewy crust that is as close to pizzeria pizza crust as I've been able to create at home - definitely doesn't have that 'homemade' pizza taste to it. I hope to make it again once I've gotten over this experience. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Excellent! Love making homemade pizza dough for our normal Friday night pizza...so much better than store bought! I used the sponge method and found (like others) that I needed to add at least 1/2 to 1 cup more flour to get the right consistency. Very nice pizza crust...give it a try, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Fantastic....super thinned crispy.Had to bake all 3crusts since d kids and my husband loves it.he even fight for the last slice with them.Requested to make them again tomorrow.I thought i will just stick on Jay's signature,i love that too ...but i like this one much.This will be surely the signature pizza of d house evry weekend.Super!!!Great pizza...thanks Nandita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakurambo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent dough!! My boyfriend and I loved this crust very much. I brushed the edge with olive oil right before it went in the oven and it came out a beautiful golden brown. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I did the sponge method because I'm familiar with that method and wanted the dough for that night. Also I put the other half in a plastic bag and stored it in the fridge and made it for lunch the next day. Definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaspr711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States