Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Pretty good recipe if you like a more doughy crust. My husband and I prefer crispy and are still in search of one using whole what flour but overall, this definitely hit the pizza craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
eh... was ok. I thought the directions were vague. I added warm water though they didn't say so. I also found the dough very wet and was reluctant to add more flour because other reviewers advised against doing so. Added extra salt as recommended by some reviewers (thanks, it needed it!) Overall, I have others I like better. Certainly miss olive oil in the dough and I thought it was too bready. Sorry :( wish I liked it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Excellent texture, bakes up crispy and holds up very well to being reheated in the microwave. I do agree with some other reviewers that it could use a bit more flavor, so next time I will add a pinch more salt and a little garlic powder. All things considered, an excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
WOW!!!!!!!! I have been searching for pizza recipes for 5 years - have made very disappointing crusts that would either resemble a cracker or at the most a mediocre frozen pizza. Folks, this is THE recipe to follow! If you follow it, the pizza gods will bless you with beautiful crusty bubbles, the perfect crispy on the outside CHEWY (not bready/cakey) on the inside bite, and a dough that will keep in the fridge for several days. Don't worry about proofing the yeast for the overnight cold ferment method. I proofed it for the sponge method, but I don't believe it was necessary. I know others have said that you need more flour, but the key is to dust the dough, dust your surface, scrape out of the bowl gently, dust more as needed, and gently fold the dough from the outside edges to the middle with a dough cutter/scraper (I do this instead of kneading). Aside from the "extra" flour you use to dust, try to resist adding a whole lot more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
WOW!!! I have tried several crust recipes and was never really happy with the result until this one. It's amazing! It was crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. It tasted just like pizzeria crust pizza. I did have to add another cup of flour and I will add one more tsp of salt next time. Thanks, this is my new go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am an avid home cook and have tried at least 30 different pizza dough recipes, ranging from simple to complicated. Pizza is always a favorite, so no complaints, but never really found a keeper, until this one! I can believe how few ingredients this pizza dough requires, and how easy it is! It's so forgiving too. I was making the sponge rise method once and accidentally started reading the instructions for the overnight, meaning I added in ALL of the flour and so I skipped the initial rise. It tasted exactly the same! I don't notice much of a difference between the two methods taste and texture wise, so I make whichever seems most convenient at the time. I don't really know how to describe the finished product... It's the perfect blend of crunchy and chewy. Soooo good!!! For Halloween, I actually rolled out some dough, used ghost and pumpkin cut outs, and made individual pizzas. It made a TON and yet every single one disappeared, and no one could believe it only took 4 ingredients to whip up! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
works great and taste great!...measurements are perfect...not sure why some are having problems with being to wet...I have made this 20 times in my kitchen aid mixer. I will never use another pizza dough recipe again.....thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very good, and easy. I used the sponge rise method but forgot to put flour in the first time, so I added it in then put the timer on again. I needed more than 3 cups of flour and I ran out of all purpose so I used ww, which worked fine. I used my KA dough hook and it worked great. It turned out to be a chewy yet soft crust, perfect for a traditional pizza for the bf and a butternut squash pizza for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i'll never go back to my old pizza crust. this one had the right texture, was malleable, simple, and tasted GREAT. I did add another 1/2-3/4c. flour, like others, though, and it took a lot longer than 8 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have to agree with some other reviewers that the dough is very sticky as written. I even subbed 1 cup of whole wheat flour, since that usually helps "soak up" moisture, but it was still exceedingly wet. So one star off because the flour measurements seem off. Next time I will probably add 1 more cup of flour. HOWEVER, 4 full stars for flavor and the slight chewy texture, it was great! I will make it again, just remember to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States