Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is an excellent crust! The texture is perfect. I have tried many other highly rated crust recipes on here, and this by far exceeds any other. I used the sponge rise method, and although it does take some time, it is well worth it. I followed the prep directions exactly as directed, but I did add some Rosemary, garlic and basil to the mix during the second step. Thank you for sharing this recipe - it will now be my staple pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Awesome! Haven't even put it in the oven yet and the texture and taste is so much better than any other I've tried! Tried Jay's Signature and could never get it to work. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
When I first started, I found that the recipe needed more flour. I added a half-cup more but had to add a total of about a cup if not more. I found the overnight cold rise method did not work at all. When I got the dough out of the refrigerator, it was sticky and almost unworkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I made using the "Sponge Rinse Method," and it was so sticky that it was unworkable. I actually expected this based on other reviews, but even adding at least 1-1/2 cups additional flour when kneading it was still a huge issue. I can understand a dough being "tacky," but this is horrible! Anyway, once it was baked, the middle area of the crust turned out great, but the edges where it was thicker was very tough, not as in crunchy tough. Next time I make fresh pizza dough I will most definitely try a different recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Finally a pizza crust recipe that tastes like it's from a pizzeria! I have made this now several times (always using the faster sponge method) and it has turned out great each time. My kids don't want to order delivery anymore! It is so easy to work with I am able to get paper-thin crispy crust for me but it also makes really good hand-tossed style for the kids. I transfer it to parchment paper and bake directly on the oven rack for a crispier crust. I also pre-cook the crust for about 5 minutes before adding my toppings. I just can't thank you enough! I've been looking a very long time for a great pizza dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Fantastic, especially with the overnight rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My husband is the pickiest person I have ever come across. HE LOVES THIS!! He's requested this, which almost never happens! Crust is tender, even when well browned like he prefers, this is so easy and basic. Thank you for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinksDiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulysses, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Absolutely the best crust recipe on this site. Not for people who think Pizza Hut pizza is good. I get rave reviews everytime I serve this. It seems strange that you use cold water, but it works! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. It yields a delicious crust, perfect chewy crust. I made two up using the sponge method. I added rosemary and garlic to one and for the other I replaced 1 cup of water with dark beer. Delicious! Like most of the other reviewers, I added about 1/2 c more flour on kneading. Note: Either make thicker crust pizzas or big pizzas since there's a fair bit of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Pretty good recipe if you like a more doughy crust. My husband and I prefer crispy and are still in search of one using whole what flour but overall, this definitely hit the pizza craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States