Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I have been using Jays pizza crust for a few years and wanted to try something new. This crust, although it doesn't get brown, is crunchy and so good. I was very surprised that with little ingredients a crust could be so good. This made two pizzas because I like a thinner crust. I used a large round pizza pan and a jellyroll pan. I greased each with a small amount of shortening, as I found this really gives some crunch to the crust. Baked on 435 until cheese was brown. My new favorite dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the first pizza crust recipe I've ever used that doesn't call for oil. It worked out great! I used the sponge method. Zero problems getting it to rise, in fact, it rose faster than I thought it would in my drafty kitchen. Made a good thin crust (my husband insists on rolling it out very thin). We saved half in the fridge; I'd love to try a thicker crust, tomorrow, and see if it puffs up nicely (that's how I like it). A great flavor, though, reminiscent of a good NY pizzeria where I grew up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was great crust. Just the right mix of criy and chewy. I used method #2 and used a tbsp of olive oil instead of flour in the bowl when rising. Made enough for two cookie sheets woth of pizza. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is the best pizza dough I have ever made even my boyfriend liked it,he hates homemade pizza until now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac75
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I just made this and it was a little difficult to work with at first but after adding a little more flour it was much easier. I made a pizza and had a little dough left over and used it to make a calzone. I brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled it with parmesan. It came out better than the pizza! Great crust. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this for my parents with half white whole wheat flour and using the sponge method, and it was a real hit. The dough had a really good texture and browned really well. Definitely worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I've made homemade pizza crust for years, but the recipes I have used were more "bready" and less crispy. This however tastes like an authentic pizzaria pizza crust. Chewy along the edges, crispy on the bottom. And don't let the refrigeration/tossing parts put you off. You just have to plan ahead to get it in the refrigerator long enough. And I didn't "toss" it... I just held it on both fists and let it stretch out from its own weight, while I moved my hands around the edges to keep it round. It was really just as simple as any other crust I've ever made, but I really liked the texture and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
lovely, chewy crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I will use this recipe over and over and over and over, I just love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Takes a little work -- but it was worth it. Delicious and the boyfriend is sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States