Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
WOW!!!!!!!! I have been searching for pizza recipes for 5 years - have made very disappointing crusts that would either resemble a cracker or at the most a mediocre frozen pizza. Folks, this is THE recipe to follow! If you follow it, the pizza gods will bless you with beautiful crusty bubbles, the perfect crispy on the outside CHEWY (not bready/cakey) on the inside bite, and a dough that will keep in the fridge for several days. Don't worry about proofing the yeast for the overnight cold ferment method. I proofed it for the sponge method, but I don't believe it was necessary. I know others have said that you need more flour, but the key is to dust the dough, dust your surface, scrape out of the bowl gently, dust more as needed, and gently fold the dough from the outside edges to the middle with a dough cutter/scraper (I do this instead of kneading). Aside from the "extra" flour you use to dust, try to resist adding a whole lot more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
WOW!!! I have tried several crust recipes and was never really happy with the result until this one. It's amazing! It was crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. It tasted just like pizzeria crust pizza. I did have to add another cup of flour and I will add one more tsp of salt next time. Thanks, this is my new go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I am an avid home cook and have tried at least 30 different pizza dough recipes, ranging from simple to complicated. Pizza is always a favorite, so no complaints, but never really found a keeper, until this one! I can believe how few ingredients this pizza dough requires, and how easy it is! It's so forgiving too. I was making the sponge rise method once and accidentally started reading the instructions for the overnight, meaning I added in ALL of the flour and so I skipped the initial rise. It tasted exactly the same! I don't notice much of a difference between the two methods taste and texture wise, so I make whichever seems most convenient at the time. I don't really know how to describe the finished product... It's the perfect blend of crunchy and chewy. Soooo good!!! For Halloween, I actually rolled out some dough, used ghost and pumpkin cut outs, and made individual pizzas. It made a TON and yet every single one disappeared, and no one could believe it only took 4 ingredients to whip up! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
works great and taste great!...measurements are perfect...not sure why some are having problems with being to wet...I have made this 20 times in my kitchen aid mixer. I will never use another pizza dough recipe again.....thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very good, and easy. I used the sponge rise method but forgot to put flour in the first time, so I added it in then put the timer on again. I needed more than 3 cups of flour and I ran out of all purpose so I used ww, which worked fine. I used my KA dough hook and it worked great. It turned out to be a chewy yet soft crust, perfect for a traditional pizza for the bf and a butternut squash pizza for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i'll never go back to my old pizza crust. this one had the right texture, was malleable, simple, and tasted GREAT. I did add another 1/2-3/4c. flour, like others, though, and it took a lot longer than 8 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have to agree with some other reviewers that the dough is very sticky as written. I even subbed 1 cup of whole wheat flour, since that usually helps "soak up" moisture, but it was still exceedingly wet. So one star off because the flour measurements seem off. Next time I will probably add 1 more cup of flour. HOWEVER, 4 full stars for flavor and the slight chewy texture, it was great! I will make it again, just remember to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I really feel bad for rating this 3 stars but is was pretty bland and it did not rise enough for my liking. The actual dough did great, the cooking of it did not though. I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
There is definitely a reason why this recipe has 5 stars. This is only the third time I've made pizza crust from scratch, and last night was the first time I tried this recipe. It was so much better feeling, tasting, and looking then the other recipe I had tried. It was absolutely prefect! And it wasn't hard at all to follow. I would recommend this crust to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Wow! Yummmooo! This was so simply to do, I've tried several recipes and this overnight method is the one for me. Believe the other reviewer, this crust is crispy on the outside and so delicious on the inside. I did pre-bake for 5 minutes brushed with evoo & seasoned with garlic powder. Splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States