Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
When I first started, I found that the recipe needed more flour. I added a half-cup more but had to add a total of about a cup if not more. I found the overnight cold rise method did not work at all. When I got the dough out of the refrigerator, it was sticky and almost unworkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I made using the "Sponge Rinse Method," and it was so sticky that it was unworkable. I actually expected this based on other reviews, but even adding at least 1-1/2 cups additional flour when kneading it was still a huge issue. I can understand a dough being "tacky," but this is horrible! Anyway, once it was baked, the middle area of the crust turned out great, but the edges where it was thicker was very tough, not as in crunchy tough. Next time I make fresh pizza dough I will most definitely try a different recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Finally a pizza crust recipe that tastes like it's from a pizzeria! I have made this now several times (always using the faster sponge method) and it has turned out great each time. My kids don't want to order delivery anymore! It is so easy to work with I am able to get paper-thin crispy crust for me but it also makes really good hand-tossed style for the kids. I transfer it to parchment paper and bake directly on the oven rack for a crispier crust. I also pre-cook the crust for about 5 minutes before adding my toppings. I just can't thank you enough! I've been looking a very long time for a great pizza dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Fantastic, especially with the overnight rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My husband is the pickiest person I have ever come across. HE LOVES THIS!! He's requested this, which almost never happens! Crust is tender, even when well browned like he prefers, this is so easy and basic. Thank you for contributing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinksDiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulysses, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Absolutely the best crust recipe on this site. Not for people who think Pizza Hut pizza is good. I get rave reviews everytime I serve this. It seems strange that you use cold water, but it works! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. It yields a delicious crust, perfect chewy crust. I made two up using the sponge method. I added rosemary and garlic to one and for the other I replaced 1 cup of water with dark beer. Delicious! Like most of the other reviewers, I added about 1/2 c more flour on kneading. Note: Either make thicker crust pizzas or big pizzas since there's a fair bit of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Pretty good recipe if you like a more doughy crust. My husband and I prefer crispy and are still in search of one using whole what flour but overall, this definitely hit the pizza craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
eh... was ok. I thought the directions were vague. I added warm water though they didn't say so. I also found the dough very wet and was reluctant to add more flour because other reviewers advised against doing so. Added extra salt as recommended by some reviewers (thanks, it needed it!) Overall, I have others I like better. Certainly miss olive oil in the dough and I thought it was too bready. Sorry :( wish I liked it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Excellent texture, bakes up crispy and holds up very well to being reheated in the microwave. I do agree with some other reviewers that it could use a bit more flavor, so next time I will add a pinch more salt and a little garlic powder. All things considered, an excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States